Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. This classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for almost 50 years, has been revised to reflect changes in the Bankruptcy Code, changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks. For example, there is a Chapter on new Subdivision V which affects most small business cases and a new separate Chapter on Section 363 Sales which affects most large business cases. Today's bankruptcy courses are now much more than just the avoiding powers, and discharge. As bankruptcy classes have become more comprehensive, students have found this short book even more helpful in comprehending reading assignments, contributing to class discussions, and answering exam questions.

Online access available through West Academic. Regularly cited by the Supreme Court and others, Elements of Bankruptcy provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of bankruptcy law. In addition to covering foundational questions such as the fresh start for individuals, property of the estate, executory contracts, adequate protection, preferences, and fraudulent conveyances, this book also covers cutting-edge issues such as restructuring support agreements, nonconsensual third-party releases, make-whole clauses, carve-outs, trap doors, and backstops. The seventh edition also takes stock of recent developments from the Supreme Court and elsewhere, including such cases as Mission Product Holdings, Jevic, Fulton, and Purdue Pharma.

Through its previous seven editions, Examples & Explanations: Bankruptcy and Debtor/Creditor has been popular with students and practitioners for its extraordinarily lucid explanations of complex concepts. In this eighth edition, the coauthors, Brian Blum and Samir Parikh, combine their expertise to enhance the book's treatment of all salient areas of bankruptcy and debtor-creditor law. Although there are many changes in the eighth edition, it maintains the format and approach of previous editions. The textual discussion of the principles, goals, policies, and legal rules of Bankruptcy and Debtor-Creditor law is clear and accessible. The Examples & Explanations pedagogy gives the reader practice interpreting the Bankruptcy Code and applying the rules and principles to factual situations.

Online access available through West Academic. This third edition of Gilbert's on Bankruptcy, an up-to-date overview of bankruptcy law that includes coverage of the new subchapter V, the 2022 amendments to the Code that changed the eligibility requirements for Chapter 13, and the Supreme Court's recent decision in Bartenwerfer, will help you prepare for success in the classroom and on your exam. This study guide begins with a 94-page Capsule Summary, which covers the basics of this complicated subject in brief, and an Approach to Exams, which provides questions to guide your exam preparation for each major topic covered in the study guide.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Warren's casebook on The Law of Debtors and Creditors. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance your recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays a visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.

Online access available through West Academic. This comprehensive text provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under Chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All legislation through the spring of 2024 is discussed, including the 2019 SBRA and the 2020 CARES Act. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2023 Term are discussed in depth.

Online access available through West Academic. This audio discussion is designed for students who are about to take their final exam in a bankruptcy course and need help in: Understanding bankruptcy concepts; Seeing the relationship between various bankruptcy concepts; Organizing what they read for class and heard in class; Anticipating what might be asked on their exam; and Structuring possible exam answers. Because some professors emphasize business bankruptcy and some professors emphasize consumer bankruptcy, the audio and accompanying material are divided into (1) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in an exam question on business bankruptcy, (2) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in exam questions on consumer bankruptcy and (3) bankruptcy concepts that will be important in all exam questions. Student study time is limited and precious and this division enables them to focus on what their individual professor has focused on.

Online access available through West Academic. The Municipal Bankruptcy Nutshell is a valuable resource for municipal attorneys and officials, law students, and journalists covering chapter 9 cases. Chapter topics include the history of municipal bankruptcy legislation, constitutional challenges to such legislation, eligibility requirements for chapter 9 relief, requirements for plan confirmation, and post-confirmation matters. The Nutshell also examines the chapter 9 specific rules on the automatic stay, pledged special revenues, rejection of collective bargaining agreements, and the avoiding powers.

Online access available through West Academic. This book focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on Bankruptcy. It covers both business and consumer bankruptcy. The book explains basic bankruptcy concepts and then uses those concepts to make code provisions understandable.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The Second Edition of Questions & Answers: Bankruptcy builds on the excellence, scope, and usability of the First Edition. The book contains 398 multiple-choice and short-answer questions with clear, detailed answers for each question, along with a two-hour, comprehensive practice exam, also with detailed, step-by-step explanations. The questions and answers cover the major chapters of the Bankruptcy Code (7, 11, 12, and 13) and include expertly designed questions on consumer bankruptcy, corporation liquidation, corporate reorganization, family farms, bankruptcy procedure, and many other issues.

Online access available through West Academic. Bankruptcy is a complicated subject that covers a lot of ground. Bankruptcy lawyers can be found on Main Street and Wall Street. This efficient and effective guide to Bankruptcy will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on explaining the key concepts or building blocks that apply in any type of bankruptcy case, and then help you see those concepts in action in cases under the different chapters of the Bankruptcy Code, in proceedings ranging from individual consumer debtors in Chapter 7 or 13 to Fortune 500 Corporations in Chapter 11. To make the learning process more bearable, the authors have also infused the book with humor. Each of the authors is a nationally-renowned law teacher who has practiced and taught Bankruptcy for many years. One of them is even a former bankruptcy judge. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing bankruptcy law, procedure, and real-world practice (in an exceedingly attractive manner).

Online access available through West Academic. Sum & Substance Audio CD Series provide you with dynamic lectures from gifted law professors whose years of teaching experience enable them to express even the most complex ideas clearly and succinctly.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The fourth edition of Understanding Bankruptcy continues to provide a detailed introduction to bankruptcy and related state and federal debtor-creditor law. It will be helpful for students taking an introductory Creditors' Rights course that emphasizes bankruptcy; a free-standing Bankruptcy course; or an advanced course in Chapter 11 Reorganization. This edition includes explanations of the growing number of Court of Appeals and Supreme Court decisions interpreting changes made to the Bankruptcy Code nearly fifteen years ago in the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005. Both new and experienced bankruptcy lawyers will find Understanding Bankruptcy helpful and insightful.