Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. Acing Administrative Law will be useful to students preparing for exams in both Administrative Law and Leg/Reg courses. This new edition has been updated to include the Supreme Court's most recent changes to Administrative Law, including the overruling of the Chevron doctrine. The book uses flowchart-style checklists to show students how to analyze administrative law exam questions--in ways that are both efficient and effective (and which do not generally match the sequencing of topics in most admin law courses). For example, students should always begin with a single baseline query when answering an admin law exam question: "Does this agency action involve rulemaking or adjudication?" As with all the Acing books, each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of administrative law. The review material is followed by a flowchart that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering exam questions. Each chapter includes practice problems with solutions illustrating how to use the flowchart to analyze specific issues. The book concludes with a comprehensive flowchart and a practice problem, so that students can see how all the parts fit together.

Online access available through West Academic. This treatise provides a comprehensively updated analysis of administrative law in the United States, placing special emphasis on topics undergoing significant evolution or transformation in the Supreme Court and federal courts of appeals. These include, for example, the latest developments in Congress's authority to delegate legislative authority to agencies, deference to agency legal interpretations, the so-called "major questions doctrine," modern due process issues, and the presidential appointments power.

Online access available through West Academic. This book offers a concise, knowledgeable guide to administrative law. In straightforward, readable prose, the authors not only summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, but also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state.

Cited by the courts more than 4,000 times, this definitive three volume work, now in its Seventh Edition, brings you analysis of the latest developments with all the practical guidance and knowledge you need to plan and present an effective case before government agencies and courts. When your clients confront government administrative action, whether it's rulemaking, adjudication, or investigation, do what your colleagues do: turn to the undisputed leader in the field. Kristin E. Hickman and Richard J. Pierce, Jr. show you the most effective approaches to any agency action, policy or procedure.

Online access available through West Academic. Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This outline covers: Rulemaking, Adjudications, Choice of Procedures and Nonlegislative Rules, The Availability of Judicial Review, Inspections, Reports & Subpoenas, Agency Structure, Public Access to Agency Processes, and Attorney's Fees.

Online access available through West Academic. This mini-treatise discusses and analyzes principal concepts of administrative law and process, including the political and legal nature of administrative law; legislative control of administrative discretion; executive control of administrative discretion; judicial control of agency discretion (threshold issues, procedural issues, substantive issues); and access to private and public information. The book incorporates descriptions of the major changes in doctrine that the Supreme Court has made in the last few years.

Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer QandA s.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Online access available through West Academic. This product provides a comprehensive outline for law school study of Administrative Law, including capsule summary, tips for exam-taking, and review questions. Topics include separation of powers, legislative and executive controls over agencies, distinguishing adjudication from rulemaking, the due process right to hearing in adjudications, other procedural requirements for adjudication and rulemaking, agency power to investigate, scope of judicial review, and doctrines governing access to judicial review, notably including reviewability, standing, exhaustion, finality, and ripeness.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Funk, Shapiro, and Weaver's casebook on Administrative Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Lawson's casebook on Administrative Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more.

Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind.

Online access available through West Academic. This audio lecture features Professor Patrick J. Borchers condensing administrative law into one lecture that includes law, hypotheticals, and exam tips. It includes classification of agencies, adjudicative and investigative action, rule making power, delegation doctrine, control by the executive, appointment and removal, and the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Also discussed are rule making procedure, adjudicative procedure, trial type hearings, the powers of administrative law judges, constitutional limits on agency action, and judicial review issues.

Online access available through West Academic. The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students' most frequently asked office hour questions.

Online access available through West Academic. This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. This study guide uses over 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of administrative law and procedure. This book divides the major administrative law topics into eleven categories. It begins with introductory questions, then moves to questions about agency structure and organization, adjudication and rulemaking procedures, non-legislative rulemaking procedures, retroactivity, the availability of and standard for judicial review, the government's and public's access to information, and ends with questions about the availability of attorney's fees.

Online access available through West Academic. This efficient, concise, and up-to-date Guide explains complex Administrative Law concepts in accessible language without sacrificing the nuance that distinguishes a superior exam performance from an average one. It follows a logical sequence of topics used by many professors in their classes, starting with the constitutional foundations of the administrative state, continuing through the procedural requirements for agency rulemaking and adjudication, then the rules governing judicial review of agency action, and concluding with agency control over information.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. This Understanding volume is designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law addresses the role of administrative agencies in our system of government, the processes of administrative decisionmaking by agencies, and judicial review of agency action.