Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. Summarizes the marital property laws dealing with creation, management and termination of community property in nine states (Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin). Also includes coverage of community option states (Alaska and Tennessee).Each chapter presents a legal overview of the chapter topic followed by an analysis of the specific law of each of the nine community property states. Topics include a brief history of community property in the U.S., premarital contracts, transmutations, community property, separate property, characterization, management and control, liabilities, forms of intimate partnership, dissolution, and death.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

Online access available through West Academic. Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent's right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell.

Online access available through West Academic. The Fifth Edition of the Perspectives book continues the focus of providing students, practitioners, and observers with insight into the ever-changing parameters of laws pertaining to family structure and responsibilities. Specifically, this book addresses, among other topics, nonmarital cohabitation, establishment of paternity, premarital and marital contracting, assisted reproductive technology, marriage, and divorce. Recent cases and federal and state statutes address specific topics such as surrogacy agreements, division of marital and nonmarital property upon dissolution of cohabitation or divorce, child support guidelines, and establishing custody rights through parenting agreements or what is considered in the best interest of the child. And there is a continuation of discussion illustrating equal protection, liberty interest, and free exercise in the context of same-sex relationships, the safety of partners and children, and termination of parental rights and possible adoption of minors.

Online access available through HeinOnline. "This work is a second edition of M. Kristine Taylor Warrens Grandparent Visitation Rights: A Legal Research Guide (2001), which provided a useful summary of the statutory law, case law, and secondary sources available at that time. Over the past twenty years, grandparents visitation rights have grown dramatically with revisions of the law, many more cases at all levels of the federal, state, and local courts, and in secondary sources. This new edition incorporates Warrens information with the new law and sources"--

Online access available through West Academic. This part of the Hornbook Series analyzes both the continuity and changes that have occurred in the law of domestic relations in recent years. Alternatives to marriage like contract cohabitation, civil unions, and marriage itself are examined in light of state supreme court and United States Supreme Court cases. The economics of divorce including the division of property is presented with reference to the emergence of marriage equality. Adoption of children concludes the book with emphasis on the abandonment of secrecy and the new regard for openness.

Online access available through West Academic. Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Using a multiple-choice and short-answer format, this book contains questions and answers regarding a variety of issues covered in family law. The focus is not on the law of a particular jurisdiction but, instead, on the laws of various jurisdictions. Because there is a great deal of overlap with respect to how states approach the resolution of many of the issues that arise in the domestic relations context, this book offers an overview of how various issues are treated across the states. That said, however, the explanations include some of the differing approaches used by the states reflecting differing priorities and emphases. This book is intended to help students hone test-taking skills as well as clarify a variety of issues that arise in family law.

Online access available through West Academic. Now you can assimilate the essentials of family law at your convenience: while working, commuting, exercising, or relaxing. This audio product simplifies difficult concepts and brings them to life, while offering helpful exam tips.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Understanding Family Law includes comprehensive coverage of topics such as traditional and nontraditional families, nonmarital and postmarital contracts, annulment, paternity and legitimacy, procreation rights, contraception, abortion, sterilization, artificially assisted conception, and adoption and termination of parental rights. Like the prior edition, published in 2005, this new Fourth Edition of Understanding Family Law explains specific family law issues, such as intrafamily tort immunity and liability, medical care for child and spouse, wrongful life and wrongful birth, domestic violence, PINS, CHINS, ethical issues for the lawyer, alternative dispute resolution, equitable distribution, community property, and child custody and visitation.