Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. This Nutshell addresses the administrative law governing the financing and delivery of health care. Administrative law governs the administrative operations of government agencies. It sets the powers that administrative agencies may exercise, establishes the legal principles governing the exercise of those powers, and provides legal remedies to those aggrieved by the actions of agencies. State and federal agencies are deeply involved in the financing and delivery of health care. They address public health, licensure of professionals and facilities and financing health care services through public health insurance programs. The reach of administrative law governing state and federal healthcare agencies is immense and immensely important to the financing and delivery of American health care.

Online access available through West Academic. This book provides a concise analysis of areas in which the law has addressed issues in bioethics. Topics include assisted reproductive techniques and family-making, limitations on reproduction (including abortion, contraception and sterilization), the role of ethical and religious beliefs of health care professionals, the definition of death, end-of-life decision-making (including physician assisted death), genetics, research involving human subjects (including issues related to conflicts of interest), stem cell research, organ transplantation, and other emerging topics. The book provides an excellent introduction to the process of ethics decision-making as well as useful support for students.

Online access available through West Academic. Public policy responses to escalating medical costs and constrained access pose fundamental challenges to health care law. Profound medical advances also generate many ethical dilemmas. This authoritative discussion considers how law and ethics respond to these driving social, economic, and political forces of innovation, crisis and reform. Topics include health insurance reform, health care finance and delivery structures, treatment relationships, facility and insurance regulation, corporate and tax law, refusal of life support, organ donation, and reproductive technologies.

Online access available through West Academic. Expert authors present an up-to-date overview of health law as it affects the professionals, institutions, and entities that deliver and finance health care in the United States. Considers the law's response to quality and error through institutional and professional regulation, and malpractice litigation against professionals, hospitals, and managed care organizations. Surveys tax, corporate, and organizational issues. Explores the government's efforts to control costs and expand access through Medicare and Medicaid. Examines government attempts to police anticompetitive activities, fraud, and abuse. And considers the legal and ethical issues involving death, human reproduction, medical treatment decision making, and medical research.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Clark, Fuse Brown, Gatter, McCuskey, and Pendo's casebook on Health Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. Reliable source on medical liability law. Written by experts in the field, this Nutshell offers insight on establishing professional relationships and examines negligence-based claims, intentional torts, causation, damages, affirmative defenses, limitations, immunities, and liabilities. It also provides an overview of medical care liability issues affecting hospitals and managed care organizations.

Online access available through West Academic. Mental illness and intellectual disability (formerly called mental retardation) impact 20% of Americans, and have enormous personal, legal, and policy implications for patients, families, and society. This Nutshell introduces you to the broad range of criminal and civil issues in mental health law, including diagnosis of mental illness; expert testimony on mental health issues; civil commitment; competence to stand trial; the insanity defense; various competencies; ethical/legal issues facing mental health professionals, including informed consent, confidentiality, privilege, and malpractice; discrimination against persons with mental illness; financial and medical benefits for disabled persons.

Online access available through West Academic. Public Health Law in a Nutshell, 5th Edition provides a core assessment of the critical role of law in America to protect communal health. As examined throughout the text, the field of public health law encompasses constitutional powers, legislative authorities, and extensive regulations in promotion of public health and safety. It also features legally-supported efforts contravening these objectives, leading to underlying tensions and difficult balances. The 5th Edition of the Nutshell addresses public health law issues, broadly defined, within a modern framework undergirding law as a premier tool for improving health outcomes. Updated to reflect key developments through July 2024, the Nutshell's 12 chapters and 150+ graphics, illustrations, and figures examine definitive legal issues and core public health powers to prevent and control communicable and chronic conditions, as well as limit avoidable injuries and deaths. Legal routes and options countering other public health threats, including tobacco and alcohol use, guns, vehicles, and defective products, are also explored. Later chapters of the Nutshell focus on key legal issues related to public health information surveillance and privacy, commercial speech regulation, the built environment, and emergency legal preparedness and response.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Questions and Answers: Health Law is the perfect supplement to help you better understand what you are learning in health law and bioethics. Part of the well-known Questions and Answers series, this indispensable study guide will aid in the mastery of a wide range of topics, spanning from fraud and abuse to public health, hospital governance to human subject research, antitrust to medical aid in dying, and beyond. It offers questions regarding the Affordable Care Act, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and recent Supreme Court cases. In total, this study aid features over 250 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged by topic for easy use.