Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Conflict of Laws deals with the resolution of interstate and foreign country private law cases. This outline covers: overview of litigational matters; domestic relations; problems of what law applies in particular types of cases; and issues of federalism.

Online access available through West Academic. This title provides an analytical overview of the field of conflicts and explains all major choice-of-law approaches in simple and straightforward text. Separate chapters explore discrete conflicts issues, including personal jurisdiction, recognition of judgments, family law, and state-federal conflicts, including Erie and preemption. It covers the most recent Supreme Court cases on personal jurisdiction and extraterritorial application of federal law, as well as the latest examples of state choice of law approaches. Extensive description and analysis of leading cases make this book an excellent companion to a casebook as well as a resource for practitioners.

Online access available through West Academic. This authoritative text covers jurisdiction and interstate and international private litigation in torts, contracts, business planning, family law (marriage, same-sex relationships, property rights, support, child custody), property, succession and estate administration, and the recognition of sister-state and foreign judgments. The text examines in depth the development and current state of approaches to choice of law. It also addresses issues of jurisdiction and applicable law in private litigation in federal court.

Online access available through West Academic. Develop perspective on the conflicts of law arena with Borchers's broad vantage point. Topics covered include issues involving domicile; jurisdiction; adjudication; statute of limitations; foreign law; contract and business cases; torts; "renvoi"; Erie Doctrine; judgments; and family (marriage, dissolution of marriage, property incidents, and custody). Use Conflicts in a Nutshell as an introduction and review tool for students or as a quick refresher and reference tool for lawyers.

Clear and informal, Examples & Explanations for Conflict of Laws, Fifth Edition, covers all topics in Conflicts courses, including personal jurisdiction and the Erie doctrine. It explains traditional and modern approaches and discusses constitutional limits on choice of law. Big-picture overviews and accurate statements of rules are reinforced with concrete examples and test-taking tips. The powerful Examples & Explanations pedagogy works especially well for Conflict of Laws where students gain understanding of rules and policies by applying them to new fact patterns. Summaries of leading cases found in most casebooks and a modular organization allows easy adaptation to any course.

Online access available through West Academic. In 64 clear, concise, and informal mini-lectures, Law School Legends Audio on Conflict of Laws covers three traditional subjects implicated by legal transactions and occurrences that have a connection to more than one state: personal jurisdiction; modern approaches to choice of law, including the Erie doctrine; and enforcing foreign country and sister state judgments.

Online access available through West Academic. This Concise Hornbook guides students through the complex concepts and principles underlying the law of domestic and international conflicts. The book is an indispensable aid to students and practitioners seeking to better understand the basic principles of choice of law, recognition of judgments, and the law applied in federal courts, as well as more specific developments concerning conflicts in family law, cyberspace, and international transactions.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. This Understanding treatise provides authoritative and comprehensive explanations of major theories and leading cases covered in Conflict of Laws courses. The new fourth edition of Understanding Conflict of Laws include the following highlights: Comprehensive treatment of the U.S. Supreme Court's recent personal jurisdiction decisions in J. McIntyre Machinery Ltd. v. Nicastro and Goodyear Dunlop Tires Operations, S.A. v. Brown, and updated material on jurisdiction in cyberspace. Discussion of recent choice-of-law cases, choice-of-law codification efforts, and new developments relating to the Erie doctrine. Updated discussions of conflict-of-laws issues surrounding same-sex marriage and the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act. Substantially expanded coverage of international conflict-of-laws issues, including forum non conveniens, recognition and enforcement of foreign country judgments, the Hague Service Convention, the Convention on Choice of Court Agreements, the U.N. Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, the Convention on the International Recovery of Child Support and Other Forms of Family Maintenance, the Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction, and the Convention on Protection of Children and Cooperation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption.