Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Online access available through West Academic. This outline examines and explains for students the Federal Rules of Evidence, which apply in federal courts and have been adopted (with some variation) in 45 of the 50 states. Included are citations and descriptions of authoritative cases commonly studied in Evidence courses across the country, and analyses the most important issues of construction and application that have arisen in the decades since the Rules were enacted for use in federal courts in 1975. This Black Letter Outline is designed to help law students recognize, understand, and apply basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses on the subject.

Online access available through West Academic. This book offers a highly readable and engaging overview of the theory and principles of evidence. An opening chapter offers a broad conceptual framework for understanding evidence. This framework is then used throughout the text to help the reader achieve a firm grasp of the essentials: relevance, character, hearsay, impeachment, opinion, privileges, and non-conventional forms of evidence. The book also includes an appendix that explains the mechanics of finding, offering, and objecting to evidence.

Online access available through West Academic. A concise treatment of all issues relating to electronically stored information (ESI) in litigation today, and a must-own for both civil and criminal practitioners. The authors have substantially rewritten each chapter and added chapters on anticipated changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure governing ESI (which take effect December, 2015), technology-assisted review of ESI, and the use of ESI in criminal cases. Includes extensive treatment of preservation, search for and production of ESI, privilege protection, sanctions, ethical obligations of attorneys with respect to technology, and how the federal rules can be and have been adopted to accommodate digital evidence.

Evidence is the most complete reference on evidence law available, written at a level that makes it an accessible, indispensible resource for students. The text emphasizes contemporary judicial interpretations of the Federal Rules of Evidence, making the law relevant to students. Organization around the Federal Rules of Evidence makes the text particularly understandable, with common-law coverage given where an issue is not codified. Throughout the text, Evidence features straightforward explication of the rules, analysis of leading case law, and thorough coverage of both the Federal Rules and state evidence codes.

Online access available through West Academic. The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful.

Online access available through West Academic. In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom.

Online access available through West Academic. This full-color e-book of Evidence logic maps, which supports any classroom text, is designed to provide visual aids including graphic and color cues to aid in the understanding and application of the Federal Rules of Evidence. Now fully updated to reflect all rule changes through December 2024, this edition features an expanded array of visual tools to enhance student learning. The book showcases new and improved types of graphics and images, carefully crafted to illustrate complex evidence concepts more effectively. Visual references continue to demonstrate the interplay among rules and subparts of rules, with applicable case law referenced where relevant.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Evidentiary Foundations provides sample lines of questioning that demonstrate how to lay the foundation for admitting various kinds of evidence. It also includes a brief discussion of the underlying legal principles, based on modern common law and the applicable Federal Rules of Evidence.

Online access available through West Academic. Exam Pro-Essay is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Answering the sample essay exams and the specific subject matter essay questions, followed by review of the corresponding answers and analysis, provides students with a more thorough comprehension of the Federal Rules of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

Online access available through West Academic. Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

Online access available through West Academic. The Nutshell contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Fisher's casebook on Evidence. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. Provides extensive analysis of cases in the Mueller casebook. Included in the case analyses are the case procedural basis, fact, issues, decision and rationale, and analysis. Additional quick memory aids include headnotes, instant facts, black letter rules, case vocabulary, and graphics. Each chapter begins with an introduction of its concepts presented in simple terms, and an alphabetical table of cases is provided.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Park and Friedman's casebook on Evidence. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. Emanuel Law in a Flash Card Features: Only product of its kind; Test your knowledge of black letter law; Apply the law to hypothetical examples; Use individually or in group sessions; Use them anywhere, anytime; Great for exam prep

Online access available through West Academic. This lecture series on Evidence is designed for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Evidence and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would like to gain a better understanding of what evidence is admissible in court. You can listen or study at your convenience – in the library, at home, walking or jogging, or driving in your car.

Online access available through West Academic. This single-volume treatise is largely free of citations to authority, but retains the most notable footnotes. Topics covered include preparing and presenting evidence, cross-examination, and the procedure for admitting and excluding evidence. Discusses privilege against self-incrimination, privilege concerning improperly obtained evidence, scientific evidence, and demonstrative evidence. Reviews authentication, the hearsay rule, burdens of proof, and presumptions. Text also identifies current issues.

Online access available through West Academic. This text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. The work is concise but complete. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The ninth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those taking effect in 2019 and the 2020 amendment of Rule 404(b).

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Questions & Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions & Answers Series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams. This study guide includes over 380 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 101 "practice exam" questions. This edition includes questions on the latest Federal Rules of Evidence amendments and Supreme Court cases. For each multiple-choice question, there is a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options.

Online access available through West Academic. Quick Review of Evidence is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of evidence clear and convenient, and to help students prepare for their law school exams and the bar exam. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for an evidence law school exam and an evidence question on the bar. The concise format provides a detailed, rule by rule analysis, as well as a "big picture" overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams and the bar.

Online access available through West Academic. This Second Edition to A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence takes a challenging subject and breaks it into manageable pieces that are easy to understand and digest. Using practical examples and humor, this book takes the reader through the most difficult, and most often tested, rules. After reading this book the reader will finally understand the Hearsay Rule (it's true!). Flowcharts and graphics will assist the reader in a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and how they interact with each other.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The fifth edition of A Student's Guide to Hearsay focuses on the Federal Rules of Evidence, breaking down the hearsay rule into its elements and explaining them in straightforward language. It does the same for each of the 29 exceptions to the hearsay rule. The book covers the Sixth Amendment Confrontation Clause and includes a proposed amendment to the Rules. It also explains related subjects: what a grand jury is and how it operates; offers of proof, order of proof, burdens of proof; conditional relevancy and conditional admissibility; and privileged communications.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Relevance is the basic concept of evidence law. Professor Fishman, who taught evidence for 41 years at Catholic University of America Law School, covers the entire subject--including conditional relevance, inferences, direct and circumstantial evidence, and order of proof--in all its applications, particularly character, "other acts" evidence, and habit. The book then covers every aspect of impeaching and rehabilitating a witness's testimony: perception; memory; narration; prior consistent or inconsistent statements; and potential bias or motive to lie.

Online access available through West Academic. This lecture simply and succinctly clarifies even the most difficult concepts in Evidence, such as hearsay and character evidence. It is time-saving, convenient, and effective.

Trial Evidence, Seventh Edition is structured around the way judges and trial lawyers think about evidentiary rules, with particular focus on the Federal Rules of Evidence. Abundant real-life courtroom vignettes illustrate how evidentiary issues arise, both before and during a trial. Logical content organization follows the sequence of a trial: opening statement, direct examination, cross examination, and closing arguments. "Law and Practice" sections throughout the book are based on actual federal and state cases and bring decades of practical experience into the evidence classroom. The accessible style of Trial Evidence always focuses on practice over theory, on applying the statute rather than reading it.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Understanding Evidence is a dual audience text. It is meant to be a supplement to, or a primary textbook for, any law school evidence course; and it is also an essential reference book for any litigator. The main objective is captured in the title--to offer an understanding of the Rules of Evidence as applied, with the latest decisional law both explicating the principles and providing references students and practitioners can turn to. Written with an understanding of how evidence rules and issues play out in all stages of the litigation process, is at once scholarly in its depth and practical in its application.