Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. This book provides a clear and concise explanation of corporations, agency and partnership, and the other subjects addressed in most Business Associations courses. To accompany its explanations, the guide utilizes a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask and issues they need to address, to fully evaluate the agency, partnership or corporations, problems they will face when studying this subject. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and organizes the critical issues, presenting a clear guide to analyze business associations issues that students can draw upon when writing their exams.

Online access available through West Academic. This book gives students in an introductory course in business associations a succinct but reliable overview of the principle legal issues that arise in business relationships over the life cycle of the business. It explains the basic concepts that govern these relationships and provides specific examples of how they apply. It also explains similarities and dissimilarities in the business associations covered. The book is intended to help students understand the course whether their background is in accounting or music.

Online access available through West Academic. Clear, succinct, descriptions of the reasoning and policy issues underlying corporate law that is accessible to law students with no business or economic background. The 2020 edition is thoroughly updated to include recent U.S. Supreme Court, Delaware and other leading decisions and regulatory developments (for example, the most recent version of the Model Business Corporation Act as well as the Delaware statute) that impact the conduct of corporate affairs including fiduciary obligations and duties in corporate transactions, governance, and management of corporations and LLCs, as well as benefit corporations, including the landscape of securities fraud suits in the federal courts, new discussions of unincorporated forms of business, insightful explanations of such news-making issues as corporate governance and director liabilities, and coverage of LLCs and LLPs.

Online access available through West Academic. This thoroughly-updated edition provides a comprehensive guide to the law of agency relationships, partnerships, and limited liability companies. In addition to detailed treatment of the key legal issues, the text also provides balanced analyses of the policies underlying the law. The reader thus comes away not only with a knowledge of the law but also an understanding of why courts and legislatures chose those rules. The text incorporates frequent references to the most up-to-date sources of the law, including those most frequently encountered in law school courses, such as the Restatement (Third) of Agency, the Uniform Partnership Act, and the Uniform Limited Liability Company Act.

Online access available through West Academic. Many students find their Corporation Law class difficult because they do not understand the transactions giving rise to those cases. As with its predecessors, this fourth edition is intended to assist students by not only restating the law but also by putting the law into its business and financial context. The pedagogy is up-to-date, with a strong emphasis on the doctrinal issues taught in today's Corporations classes. The text is highly readable: The style is simple, direct, and reader-friendly. Even when dealing with complicated economic or financial issues, the text seeks to make those issues readily accessible.

Online access available through West Academic. This Hornbook clarifies rather than simply recites corporation law, while paying attention to correcting common misconceptions held among students and attorneys about the subject. This book is also intended for courts and commentators seeking the appropriate resolution of issues of corporation law. It is written in a "user-friendly" style, with citations kept to a minimum. More than just an update, the Third Edition constitutes a significant expansion and refinement of the prior editions. Among the additions are thoughtful expositions on corporate rights, purpose and social responsibility and extended historical and comparative law discussions.

Online access available through West Academic. Exam Pro-Objective on Business Associations is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Business Associations exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Business Associations and a better understanding of how to take exams.

Informal and student-friendly, this best-selling study guide - recommended widely by professors in both Business Associations and Corporations courses - provides thematic coverage of the law of business organizations, beginning with agency and partnership law and focusing on corporations. Examples and Explanations for Corporations, Ninth Edition, combines clear text with examples and explanations that allow students to test their understanding of concepts and practice applying the law to real-life fact patterns.

Online access available through West Academic. This outline clearly examines the full range of issues that arise in classes focused on business organizations. The central distinctions among business forms such as general and limited partnerships, limited liability corporations as well as close and public corporations. Both federal and state statutes that regulate the affairs of corporations are examined. The legal requirements for their formation, operation and management. Also includes shareholders' right to inspect records, shareholders' suits, capitalization, dividends, redemption of shares, fundamental changes in corporate structure, and applicable conflict of laws principles.

Online access available through West Academic.This title contains briefs for each major case in Bainbridge's casebook on Business Associations. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. Bauman’s High Court Case Summaries on Corporations contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in this casebook. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Cox and Eisenberg's casebook on Business Organizations. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Macey and Moll's casebook on Business Organizations. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook.

Online access available through West Academic. Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation. It features numerous examples to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm, including the emergence of greater concerns for constituencies other than shareholders, as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law. It offers separate consideration of specialized issues raised in closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of recent case law, particularly about controlling shareholders and takeovers, the book offers detailed comparison of Delaware and other leading corporate law legislation.

Online access available through West Academic. With Law School Legends, students get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject in one simple, dynamic lecture. In this audio lecture, Professor Michael Kaufman explains the following topics: Liability of a Principal to Third Parties for Torts Committed by an Agent – Principal-Agent Relationship, Independent Contractors, Scope of the Principal-Agent Relationship, Intentional Torts; Liability of a Principal to Third Parties for Contracts Entered into by an Agent – Authority, Rules of Contract Liability; Duties Running Between Agents and Principals within a Principal-Agent Relationship; General Partnership Formation; Liabilities of Partners to Third Parties; Rights and Liabilities Between Partners – Fiduciary Relationship, Partnership Property, Profits and Losses; Partnership Dissolution – Compensation and Liability for Winding Up, Priority of Distribution.

Online access available through West Academic. With Law School Legends, students preparing for exams get a recognized law school professor explaining an entire subject in one clear, concise lecture. In this audio lecture, Professor David Epstein explains the important business associations concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how you can use the concepts to answer any question your professor might ask on your exam.

Online access available through West Academic. This study aid provides detailed explanation of the cases in the Business Associations casebook by Klein. The discussion of each case provides the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and the court's reasoning. This title includes cases that pertain to business associations, partnerships, nature of the corporation, the limited liability company, the duties of officers, directors, and other insiders, problems of control, mergers, acquisitions, and takeovers, and corporate debt.

Online access available through West Academic. Introduction/Taxation (6:36) -- Agency Law within Business Associations courses (6:49) -- Partnership, Ownership Interests, and Transferability (7:36) -- Dissolution in the Context of a Partnership (4:59) -- Piercing the Corporate Veil (5:56) -- Duty of Care (6:40) -- Duty of Loyalty (6:30) -- Oppression (7:48) -- Limited Partnerships (5:12) -- Ownership Interests and Transferability in LLCs (5:08).

Online access available through West Academic. The study of business organizations is, broadly speaking, a study of how people engage in business and, more importantly, how the law facilitates and regulates the operation of such businesses. Written in a clear and informative style, and chock full of examples and illustrations, this book examines the legal rules and doctrines associated with running a business--from formation to dissolution to everything in between. These rules and doctrines are explored within the context of the various organizational forms in which a business may be operated.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Questions and Answers: Business Associations helps students better understand and develop their mastery of the law of business association in ways that will help them succeed in a standard survey course, prepare for the bar exam, and enter practice. The third edition of this popular supplement updates, clarifies, and builds upon the coverage of earlier chapters, introduces questions focused on the law of agency, and elaborates on distinctions between the Model Business Corporation Act and the Delaware General Corporation Law. Notably, the revisions of the third edition have been informed by developments announced by the National Conference of Bar Examiners in anticipation of forthcoming revisions to the bar exam.

Online access available through West Academic. "Short and Happy"? This book is indeed "short" - much shorter than any other student guide. The reason is that other student guides are written to help you understand your business associations/organizations course, to get you through 42 or 56 class hours. This student guide is different. It is written to help you understand your prof's final exam questions - to get you through a 3 or 4 hour exam. Rather than teaching you how cases and concepts are applied in the real world, this book teaches you how cases and concepts need to be applied in the "unreal" world of law school exams. This is the book to read after you have spent the semester working on law review (Or was it clinic? Or client counseling competitions? Or Kundalini yoga? Or shape note singing?) instead of Business Associations.

Online access available through West Academic. This audio lecture brings the corporations course to life simply and succinctly. It discusses the nature, attributes, and formation of a corporate entity along with various contingencies. Among the topics examined are rights and powers of corporate directors, officers, and shareholders, including their fiduciary obligations; proxy solicitations under section 14(a); close corporation provisions and agreements; dissolution; fiduciary matters; state regulation of insider trading; short-swing profits under section 16(b); derivative suit litigation; issuance of stock; dividends and other shareholder distributions; and fundamental corporate changes. It includes a close analysis of the federal antifraud provision, section 10(b), and rule 10b-5.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The sixth edition of Understanding Corporate Law is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases, statutory provisions, and jurisprudence used in the study of corporations. It includes major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature.