Study Guides for 2L/3L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Online access available through West Academic. This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.

Online access available through West Academic. Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.

Online access available through West Academic. Basic Criminal Procedure is a clear and comprehensive outline of the most important principles and issues taught in the basic Criminal Procedure law school course with emphasis on the 4th, 5th and 6th Amendment rules that govern federal and state law enforcement and courts. This Black Letter is comprehensive in its coverage. It examines a wide range of legal doctrines, including: The Incorporation Doctrine, Exceptions to the Warrant requirement, Remedies for 4th Amendment violations, The Privilege Against Self-Incrimination, Confessions, Miranda, Massiah, Constitutional Limits on Identification Evidence, The Right to Counsel, Effective Assistance of Counsel, and the Right to Counsel. Major Supreme Court cases are thoroughly analyzed, including an examination of separate opinions by Supreme Court Justices.

Online access available through West Academic. This book walks step-by-step through the criminal adjudication process, from the post-arrest bail decision and the right to counsel through the post-trial direct appeal. It analyzes the main cases and statutes in each area, showing how the doctrine has developed and its current state. The book also places great emphasis on the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, working through their text, explaining not only the law but the strategic issues that a lawyer might face.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. "Well-written and full of practical advice, Criminal Practice Handbook, Fifth Edition guides you through a criminal case from beginning to end. As a young lawyer just beginning your practice, you'll gain the basic procedures of federal and state criminal practice. For the seasoned practitioner, this publication is a refresher A-To-Z guide"--

Online access available through West Academic. This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. The coverage is comprehensive, including federal and state statutes and court rules and descriptions of practice as well as constitutional limitations, with an emphasis upon those issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.

Online access available through West Academic. This Nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. It covers search and seizure (including wiretapping), interrogation, identification, right to counsel, self-incrimination, bail, trial rules, and appellate process. The book does not cover state or federal statutes or other non-constitutional standards. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.

This comprehensive guide will assist anyone involved in the criminal justice system and will serve as an especially valuable guide for new prosecutors or defense attorneys entering the field. The text gives a broad overview of criminal procedure from investigation all the way through post-conviction reviews. The authors discuss complex topics such as standing, fruit of the poisonous tree, car stops, the privilege against self-incrimination, eyewitness identification, habeas corpus, and double jeopardy in both the civilian and military settings. All the principal Supreme Court decisions are explained: Mapp, Gates, Gideon, Wade, Miranda, Brady, and many others.

Online access available through West Academic. This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 42 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.

Online access available through West Academic. A criminal procedure outline that highlights all of the key criminal procedure decisions from the U.S. Supreme Court in an easy-to-read and easy-to-understand format that includes check lists, visual aids, and practice exam questions (and answers) -- both essay and short answer. Topics covered include: Fourth Amendment search and seizure (including arrests and other detentions); the exclusionary rule; confessions (including the rules established by Miranda v. Arizona and the Fifth Amendment privilege against compelled self-incrimination); and a discussion of trial rights (such as the right to a speedy trial, the right to trial by jury, and the right to counsel).

The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, "The Closer" questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick. The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler, Thomas, and Medwed's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Kamisar, LaFave, Israel, King, Kerr, and Primus's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. This title contains briefs for each major case in Saltzburg, Capra, and Gray's casebook on Criminal Procedure. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.

Online access available through West Academic. An excellent reference tool, this book explores a range of sentencing-related topics, including the principal purposes of criminal sentences, restorative justice, guilty pleas and plea bargaining, different ways to structure sentencing systems, procedural rights during sentencing proceedings, sentencing evidence, community-based sentences, the death penalty, Eighth Amendment constraints on sentences in noncapital cases, parole release, probation and parole revocation, and enmeshed penalties (often called the "collateral consequences" of a conviction). The latter half of the book contains an illuminating overview of the constitutional rights of incarcerated people, details on litigating their civil-rights suits challenging conditions of confinement and their treatment while incarcerated, and the remedies available to them.

Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. Emanuel Law in a Flash Card Features: Only product of its kind Test your knowledge of black letter law Apply the law to hypothetical examples Use individually or in group sessions Use them anywhere, anytime Great for exam prep

Online access available through West Academic. With Law School Legends, you’ll get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject to you in one simple, dynamic lecture. The Law School Legends make even the most difficult concepts crystal clear. You’ll understand the big picture, and how all the concepts fit together. In this lecture, professor Mary Cheh of George Washington University Law School covers the basic Criminal Procedure course, which is primarily investigative criminal procedure in schools where they divide the course into two topics. One of investigative criminal procedure, and the other of criminal procedure adjudication.

Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 1: The Investigative Stage provides a concise treatment of the relevant federal constitutional doctrines that guide and constrain interactions between the police and individuals in the investigation of criminal conduct. The book provides an overview of the criminal process and the constitutional sources of the criminal procedure rules, including different approaches to constitutional interpretation. The third edition of Volume One focuses on the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments as they relate to the warrant requirement for searches, exceptions that allow warrantless searches, the seizure of evidence and individuals, and the interrogation of suspects.

Online access available through West Academic. Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Online access available through West Academic. Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Online access available through West Academic. This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.

Online access available through West Academic. For law students of constitutional criminal procedure, Principles of Investigative Criminal Procedure will assist them in learning about Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment issues associated with criminal investigations. This volume is an effort to provide a comprehensive, though "Concise", treatise for law students and attorneys. The materials discuss and analyze the criminal procedure jurisprudence of the United States Supreme Court, with extensive use of primary source material that affects judges, prosecutors, defense counsel, and criminal defendants. Discussions relate to breakthrough decisions like Miranda v. Arizona, as well as cases adding a nuance to topics already well-developed in prior Court decisions.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. This book and its companion, Q&A: Criminal Procedure -- Prosecution and Adjudication, will assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The book assists learning and exam preparation for the Criminal Procedure--Prosecution and Adjudication (a.k.a. "bail-to-jail") course and the bar exam. Coverage includes the broad gamut of issues concerning the criminal adjudication process, including prosecutorial discretion, bail, initial appearance, preliminary hearing, grand jury, indictment and information, the right to counsel and the effective assistance of counsel, plea bargaining, joinder and severance, motion practice, discovery, time limitations, jurisdiction and venue, jury trials, double jeopardy, sentencing (including the death penalty), and post-conviction remedies.

Online access available through West Academic. This product is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of criminal procedure clear and convenient and to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main text is an outline of the substantive content. The concise format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

Online access available through West Academic. This Short and Happy Guide makes the law about police practices and criminal trial proceedings accessible and easy to remember. Learn the key points of search and seizure law, police interrogation, the right to counsel, the exclusionary rule, pretrial release, grand jury investigations, joinder, criminal discovery, plea bargaining, jury trials, pretrial publicity, double jeopardy, appeals, and post-conviction standards. Dominate your classes in Criminal Procedure and your skills courses in Trial Advocacy!

Online access available through West Academic. This audio lecture covers the most important issues raised in a constitutional criminal procedure course relating to police practices. The lecture focuses on the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments and covers many issues, such as the meanings of the Fourth Amendment terms “search,” “seizure,” and “probable cause,” analysis of the exceptions to the search warrant requirement, and the doctrines of standing and the exclusionary rule. The lecture also covers police interrogation law as covered by the due process, self-incrimination, and right to counsel provisions of the Constitution, as well as the landmark Miranda v. Arizona decision.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. The fifth edition of Understanding Criminal Procedure: Adjudication brings the treatise up to date on all of the newest developments in the rules that govern the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. Recent years have brought important changes and new debates to the forefront, both in areas governed by constitutional doctrine, such as the Confrontation Clause and the trial by jury provision of the Sixth Amendment, and in matters largely governed at the local level, such as the use of algorithms and big data in bail hearings and new rules on discovery. The new edition explains this entire landscape in carefully organized chapters describing where we are, how we got here, and where further developments may be expected.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Understanding Criminal Procedure is primarily designed for law students and is organized and written so that both students and professors can use it with confidence to better prepare for courses and improve classroom dialogue. The two-volume format allows you to purchase one or both volumes based on the topics covered in your course. Already cited extensively in scholarly literature and judicial opinions, scholars, practicing lawyers, and courts will also find the expanded content of this newest edition indispensable. Inside you'll find extensive coverage of the most important United States Supreme Court cases and discussion of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases.