Sources of U.S. Data
- Budget of the United States Government Access to budget publications and statistical tables are provided back to 1997.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis Data at the regional, national, and international levels that includes: Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income and Outlays, Consumer Spending, Corporate Profits, Fixed Assets, Research and Development Satellite Account, Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods and Services, and more.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Available statistics include prices, employment, productivity, workplace injuries and pay.
- Economic Indicators: U.S. Census BureauMonthly wholesale trade, Manufacturing, Construction spending, Durable goods, New home sales, New residential construction, Retail trade, Services, U.S. International trade, Housing vacancies and ownership
- Economic IndicatorsThis monthly publication provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- Economic Report of the PresidentThe Economic Report of the President is an annual report transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Documents are available in ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF), with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel (XLS).
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED provides 35,000 economic time series from 38 sources. FRED also provides an Excel add-in to access economic data directly from Excel.
- Page One EconomicsPage One Economics website is maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and offers the data behind the economics, including a data "starter set" from the FRED website, to provide deeper understanding of important economic issues.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the world‘s largest statistics portals, providing data compiled from 18,000 private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia. All statistics and forecasts can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowProbably the single most useful published collection of statistical information on virtually all aspects of life in the United States. And it usually directs you to the originally-published sources of data for more in-depth coverage.
Earlier editions also are available online from the Census Bureau. Printed copies (1878-2011) are available in the library's Reference collection.
- Survey of Current BusinessMonthly publication from the Bureau of Economic Analysis. Articles in the Survey present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates.
- Tax Foundation: Facts & FiguresFacts and Figures, a resource we’ve provided to U.S. taxpayers and legislators since 1941, serves as a one-stop state tax data resource that compares all 50 states on over 40 measures of tax rates, collections, burdens, and more.
International Data
- FRED - International DataThe Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides data by country for many economic indicators.
- ILOSTAT DatabaseThis new ILO database of labor statistics provides multiple datasets with annual and infra-annual labor market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories
- IMF DataAccess to databases such as the International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics
- International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a excellent source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic economics. It reports, for most countries of the world, data needed in the analysis of international payments, consumer and producer prices, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, production, government accounts, and national accounts.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)U.S. and International data from the NBER.
- National Bureau of Statistics of ChinaProvides access to large quantity of data, including excel files from the China Statistical Yearbook.
- National Statistical Offices Links to the primary national statistical agencies for over 200 countries. Provided by the International Statistical Institute.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the world‘s largest statistics portals, providing data compiled from 18,000 private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia. All statistics and forecasts can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
- World Bank Data Catalog In addition to World Development Indicators, the World Bank provides access to a large number of datasets.
- World Development Indicators World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.