Organization of data about AAPI communities in the U.S. with reference to several datasets.

Overview of PEW research on Asian Americans with accessible datasets on Asian American experiences in the U.S., sometimes in datasets with just Asian-American respondents and sometimes in ones with an oversample of Asian-American adult respondents

The Asian American Quality of Life Survey explores the experiences of a diverse group of Asian Americans. The AAQoL focuses on the lived experiences, identity, health and social needs of Asian/Asian Americans living in the City of Austin. Survey data were collected between August and December 2015 and includes self-identified Asian Americans age 18 and older. The AAQoL includes data from 2,609 respondents.

The final NLAAS sample consisted of 2,554 Latino respondents and 2,095 Asian American respondents. To allow for subgroup analysis, respondents were further stratified into the following ethnic subgroup categories: Puerto Rican, Cuban, Mexican, Other Latinos, Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipino, and Other Asians. Data collection took place between May 2002 and November 2003.

The MMP Database is the result of an ongoing multidisciplinary study of Mexican Migration to the United States. It contains data gathered since 1982 in surveys administered every year in Mexico and in the United States. The MMP Database (MMP174) is currently one of the most concise and vast data set of its kind in existence. As of February 2021, the MMP174 consists of data from 1981 to 2019 and over 170,000 respondents.

The final NLAAS sample consisted of 2,554 Latino respondents and 2,095 Asian American respondents. To allow for subgroup analysis, respondents were further stratified into the following ethnic subgroup categories: Puerto Rican, Cuban, Mexican, Other Latinos, Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipino, and Other Asians. Data collection took place between May 2002 and November 2003.

April 2013 survey of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Adults includes a national probability sample of 1,197 self-identified LGBT adults over age 18. The cross-sectional survey data includes information about demographics, social acceptance, coming out, marriage and parenting, identity and community, religion, partnership, policy views, and values.

Collected in 2018, this dataset includes the results of a cross-sectional survey of school counselors (aged 18+, working as K12 counselors in the US at the time of data collection), N = unknown . The survey measured counselors’ demographic information, Transgender and Intersex Advocacy Competence, Depression Happiness, and Gender Exploration and Commitment.

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a comprehensive resource that collects state-level data on U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. This dataset has multiple gender and sex measures, including: sex assigned at birth, interviewer-assigned sex, and interviewees’ self-reported sex.