Commercial Streaming Video Collections
The databases listed below offer access to large collections of streaming video of films, television programs, documentaries, and other presentations. Each of these collections is available here for our students, faculty, and staff because the University Library has purchased access and items should be available to W&L users from both on-campus and off-campus locations. Note: These materials are not listed in the library's Primo database.
- Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand offers approximately 31,000 streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others.
- Films on Demand Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Nearly 5,000 archival and historical films.
- Kanopy Streaming Collection This link opens in a new window
The Kanopy Streaming Collection features films from top producers and special collections on trending topics. Kanopy also makes it easy to share full films, create clips and embed videos.
- Blue Ridge PBS Passport
The PBS Passport series, available at W&L through Blue Ridge PBS, enables W&L researchers to view on-demand streaming video of selected programming that is not freely available through the PBS website. Authorized W&L community members (current students, faculty, and staff) may use their W&L username and password to discover our access information.
Please do not share login information outside of the current W&L community. Unauthorized users are prohibited.
Note - the PBS Passport series is separate from PBS Online video streaming.
Additional Streaming Offerings
- Streaming Video in the Primo DatabaseW&L libraries sometimes acquire access to streaming video of individual films or small groups of films not available through larger commercial collections, such as Kanopy. In some cases, we may have such access to a film for only months or a few years. All these available items are accessible here through the library Primo database, including our access to films leased from Swank Digital Campus.