Early 20th Century
These databases can be used to find newspaper and magazine articles published in the early decades of filmmaking. For example, what did critics say about Gone With the Wind when the movie was released?
- Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Derived from the venerable Readers Guide to Periodical Literature, this database lists approximately 3 million articles from about 375 leading magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, and the New Yorker, roughly covering the time span from 1890 to 1982.
- New York Times, The, Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times beginning with the first issue in 1851.
- Washington Post Historical Newspaper (1877-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889)
- Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of this venerable British newspaper, covering 1785 through 2009, containing over 11 million articles.
Please note: The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a separate publication and a separate database.
Acquisition was made possible by a generous gift from the Friends of the Library. - Sunday Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of venerable British newspaper, covering 1822 through 2006, containing nearly 600,000 pages.
Please note: The Times Digital Archive is a separate publication and separate database.
Acquisition was made possible by a generous gift from the Friends of the Library. - British Library Newspapers: Parts 1 - 5 This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of over 160 British regional and local British newspapers, with coverage from the mid-18th century through 1950.