FILM STUDIES RESEARCH: GETTING STARTED

Fall 2019
http://libguides.wlu.edu/filmresearch

Need More?

If you need more comprehensive coverage of journals, magazines, and newspapers than what you found by searching the "Starting Places" databases, try one or more of the options below.

Finding Articles in Specialized Academic/Scholarly Journals

Consider the W&L course and department/program in which you are working.  Most of the article-searching databases in the various subject areas covered in the library's website can be used to find discussions of movies. For example, the Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance database is a good place for articles on Monty Python and the Holy Grail.   Some of the "best" such databases are listed below.

Finding Articles -- Primo Database

The W&L library's Primo database can search for articles from the above databases and much more, but you may find the sheer volume of search results a bit hard to digest.  Here are two examples of an "Articles Only" search of the Primo database:

Examples of searches:

Getting an Article's Text

In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.

But what do you do when the text is not immediately available?  How do you know if we have access to an article?

 

 

Serials Solutions 360 Link

This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S.    Click here to begin.   (For more information, see this page.)

 

 

Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?

You usually can answer this question by searching our A-Z Journals List.