Article Databases -- Specialized Scholarly and Professional
These databases specialize in locating articles in scholarly/academic sources and professional education journals and magazines, as well as other sources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The link above takes users to the free, public-domain form of the database which is the largest education database in the world.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including "all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing." Full-text content from more than 950 journals, plus indexing of over 1,800 additional journals, some back to the 1980's. Other materials includes full-text conference papers, books, and monographs.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature. Subjects covered include education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Coverage of "emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods." Full-text coverage of 570 journals and magazines, of which 551 are peer-reviewed.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.