Broad Coverage of Topics
- American Education Online access to the 18th edition (2018) of Joel Spring's text, required for W&L's EDUC 200 course.
Current Awareness
- Education Week EW is a preeminent source for news and analysis of K-12 education. This subscription site is enhanced with additional columns, features, blogs, etc.
- Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools The 88th Edition, 2023-2024, outlining the most complete and current listings of the requirements for certification of a wide range of educational professionals at the elementary and secondary levels.
Major Reference Works in Education
Listed below are major education-related encyclopedias and similar reference sources. You can generate a current list of all education-related reference works in W&L collections by clicking on this link.
- EdSpeak : A Glossary of Education Terms, Phrases, Buzzwords, and Jargon Diane Ravitch composed this 2007 collection of about 500 terms from the field of education and translates them from rarefied jargon into comprehensible English.
- Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education offers readers a broad summary of the multifaceted and interdisciplinary field of critical whiteness studies, the study of white racial identities in the context of white supremacy, in education. Featuring scholars from across the Anglophone world, this volume seeks to offer both introductions and deep dives into the ever-shifting field of critical whiteness research in education.
- Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy Two-volume set (2014) contains 300 signed entries which examine key theories and theorists, concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. [ preview ]