The Law Library's physical collection consists of both legal and non-legal materials across a broad spectrum of subjects. These materials are arranged by subject using the LC call number system. The general library collection, or "stacks," is located on Levels 1A and 1 of Lewis Hall. In addition to the general collection, specialized collections are located throughout the study areas in Lewis Hall and online:
- Law School Success Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection includes a range of titles to help you do your best in law school—academically of course, but also with guidance on mindfulness, perseverance, mental health, and work-life balance for law students.
- Career Strategy Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection is focused on career exploration, interviewing techniques, time management, personal organization, and professionalism. These materials are located in the Main Reading Room in the center, right shelving unit. Also, visit the Office of Career Strategy on level 3. Dean Jarrett, Ms. Hilton, Ms. Coleman-Jackson, and the Rachford Fellows are always there to help!
- Bar Success Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection consists of a variety of materials written to assist students in studying and planning for the bar exam. These materials are supplemented with the Bar Exam Research Guide that is regularly updated.
- Databases and Online Resources - The library's print collections are supplemented by an array of electronic databases and online resources. Access to many resources is available to all users on campus or remotely using W&L login credentials. Visit the Law Library's Online Resources page for a list of databases and online resources as well as short descriptions of each. Access to Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw is limited to the Law School community.
- Escape Hatch (Level 3) - The Escape Hatch collection contains fiction novels, popular non-fiction, and DVDs for recreational reading and viewing.
- Fun & Function and Accessories (Reserve Room + Circulation Desk, Level 3) - The library has a collection of indoor and outdoor games and puzzles available for checkout in the Reserve Room. We also offer a variety of equipment and accessories (laptops, chargers, cables, noise-cancelling headphones, book stands, handheld vacuum, etc.) for checkout at the Circulation Desk.
- Lewis F. Powell Jr. Archives (Level 1) - The Archives comprise three units of special collections: manuscript collections, rare books, and the School of Law archives. The papers of the late Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Lewis F. Powell Jr., '29, '31L, are the centerpiece of almost two dozen manuscript collections. For more information, visit the Archives website.
- Study Aid Collection (Online + Reserve Room, Level 3) - The Reserve Room print collection includes select reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories, plus a large selection of study aid materials such as hornbooks, commercial outlines, practice exams, nutshells, flashcards, lectures on CD, etc. Our print study aid materials are supplemented by the West Academic Study Aids Collection, CALI, Quimbee, and Lexis Digital Library Study Aids online. See the Register Here tab in this guide for related account creation instructions.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
W&L's online catalog provides easy access to print and electronic materials within the Law and University Library collections. To search the catalog, click here.
Can't find what you need? Faculty, staff, and students may request complimentary Interlibrary Loans of books and articles not available in the Law Library's collection. To submit an interlibrary loan request, please complete the ILL Form.
Library Use and General Policies
The Law Library is open to all members of the University community, the legal profession, and the general public during normal business hours. Extended access is available for law students, faculty, and staff via swipe card access on levels 1A, 2, and 3. Below are some important policies and information for visiting the library. Please also refer to W&L's Law School Policies, which are to be observed in the Library.
- W&L's online catalog provides easy search options for the print and electronic materials within the Law and University Library collections. To check out an item, either visit the Circulation Desk (level 3) or use the Meescan mobile app to check out an item anyplace in the Library using your phone. (Download the app from Apple App Store or Google Play, or scan the QR code at right.) For information on lending periods, please see our Borrowing/Circulation Policy. You may verify or renew your checked-out materials though your Library Account online or by contacting the circulation staff.
- The Law Library has five study rooms on level 3 that accommodate up to two people: Rooms 305, 306, 307, 308, and 309. To reserve a study room, please visit W&L's 25Live Reservation System or scan the QR code on the study room's door. (WLU log-in credentials are required.) Reservations are permitted for a maximum of four hours; no successive reservations are permitted.
- Levels 1A, 1, 2, 3A, and 3 are all open study spaces. Please be respectful of others and keep volumes at a reasonable level, as noise in the building will carry. If you're looking for the most quiet space to study, visit the designated quiet area on level 1A, or reserve a study room as detailed above.
- Eating and drinking are permitted in the Law Library, however leaving food items or waste is prohibited at all times in all locations.
- The Law Library is not responsible for your items. Please do not leave personal property or library materials you are using unsecured overnight.