The Law Library provides you with access to numerous legal and non-legal databases. The three main legal databases you will use during your 1L year are Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw. These databases are only available to the Law School community via individual passwords issued upon arrival.
Before the start of classes, please make sure that you are registered for Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw following the guidance below. Other popular legal information and news resources are also listed below with instructions on creating an account. For a complete list of legal databases and online resources, visit the Law Library's Online Resources page.
If you have questions or need assistance with your registrations, email a librarian at lawref@wlu.edu or use the link to the left.
Bloomberg Law is one of the three main databases that you will use in law school and likely in your legal career. You will receive an email with instructions on how to activate your Bloomberg Law account on Friday, August 25, 2023, from the library. Please be sure to activate your Bloomberg Law account before the start of classes (August 28).
Lexis is one of the three main databases that you will use in law school and likely in your legal career. You will receive an email with instructions on how to activate your Lexis account on Friday, August 25, 2023, from the library. Please be sure to activate your Lexis account before the start of classes (August 28).
Westlaw is one of the three main databases that you will use in law school and likely in your legal career. You will receive an email with instructions on how to activate your Westlaw account on Friday, August 25, 2023, from Thomson Reuters. Please be sure to activate your Westlaw account before the start of classes (August 28).
Complimentary access to Quimbee Study Aids is provided to all W&L Law students through the Law Library. You will receive an email with instructions on how to activate your Quimbee account on Friday, August 25, 2023, from the library. Quimbee includes hundreds of video lessons covering dozens of law school courses, transcripts of these lessons, and thousands of practice questions with explanations to supplement other study methods.
The Law Library provides you with unlimited digital access to the West Academic Study Aids Collection. Sign on anytime to find case briefs and outlines to help you prepare for class, interactive multiple choice practice questions to help you prepare for exams, and audio books and audio lectures so you can listen on the go. Create an account online using your W&L email address to have unlimited access regardless of your location.
Access to CALI is provided to all W&L Law students through the Law Library. You will receive an email with instructions on how to activate your CALI account on Friday, August 25, 2023, from the library. With over 1,000 online lessons spanning 50+ topics of doctrinal law and practice-oriented skills, CALI content is created by law professors nationwide to provide self-directed yet rigorous guidance for students. CALI provides extensive selections of outlines, ebooks, and podcasts on law school subjects, including tutorials and lessons for first-year courses and upper-level electives.
Access to Law.com is available on campus for all users. To access Law.com off campus and receive newsletters and searches directly by email, W&L Law community members may register for an account using a valid and active @wlu.edu email address. Note: You must use @wlu.edu as your email extension, not @law.wlu.edu, if you are a student. Notifications and alerts from Law.com will still arrive at your email inbox.
A digital subscription to The New York Times is available to all current students, faculty, and staff at W&L. Click here to activate your free NYT account, using your @law.wlu.edu email address. If you already have a paid digital subscription to NYT, you will receive a separate email asking if you’d like to cancel your paid subscription and join the Law Library’s institutional subscription.
Current students, faculty, and staff at W&L may register for a complimentary individual digital subscription to The Wall Street Journal. Click here to create your WSJ account, using your @law.wlu.edu email address.
