Get Help!
Profile
Search for Articles from Trade Journals
If you are looking for articles about a specific company, you may want to search Business Source Complete or Dow Jones Factiva using the company's ticker symbol.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
A leading index and abstracting service for business and management, and it provides indexing and abstracts to articles from thousands of business and management publications. Many articles are available in full-text. Abstracting coverage begins with 1971.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source covers business journals, magazines, and newspapers. About 7,000 publications, over 2,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals, as well as other resources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. You might try changing the "select a field" drop-down menu to "CO Company Entity" before searching for a company name.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
Company Profiles & Reports
- Mergent's InvestorEdge This link opens in a new window
Mergent InvestorEdge houses over 4000 Equity Research Reports, updated weekly, providing expert analysis and buy, sell, and hold recommendations from Ford Equity Research.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data. Coverage includes: History; Mergers, acquisitions, disposals; Joint ventures; Business; Property; Subsidiaries; Officers and directors; News reports; Long-term debt; Bond ratings; Capital stock; Exchange and ticker symbol; Annual stock price ranges; Registrar; Transfer agent; Stock splits; Dividend payment history; Income statement; Cash flow statement; Balance sheet; Contact information; Auditors; Qualified auditors' report
Use Mergent Online to:
Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
Export company reports and financials into Word® or Excel®
Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
Compare multiple companies' reports
Retrieve EDGAR filings dating back to 1993 in Word® and Excel® formats.
FactSheets - Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new windowMorningstar offers analysis on 15,800 stocks, 26,500 mutual funds and 1,700 exchange traded funds (ETFs). While it is primarily designed as a tool for investors, it is also an excellent place to get quick information on a company.
The Company Stock Reports include analysis written by Morningstar’s experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders. Reports are available for the top 3000 companies but other information is available for many more.
Another useful feature is their industry returns section, which is under the markets tab. This has total return for broad industry segments and identifies the top companies in the sector, with links to more information on those companies.
Financial Data
The following resources offer standard financial statements and allow users to download them as spreadsheets or delimited files.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data. Coverage includes: History; Mergers, acquisitions, disposals; Joint ventures; Business; Property; Subsidiaries; Officers and directors; News reports; Long-term debt; Bond ratings; Capital stock; Exchange and ticker symbol; Annual stock price ranges; Registrar; Transfer agent; Stock splits; Dividend payment history; Income statement; Cash flow statement; Balance sheet; Contact information; Auditors; Qualified auditors' report
Use Mergent Online to:
Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
Export company reports and financials into Word® or Excel®
Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
Compare multiple companies' reports
Retrieve EDGAR filings dating back to 1993 in Word® and Excel® formats.
FactSheets
• FactSet
FactSet is available to W&L users only; registration is required see instructions below. FactSet offers comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies. Once you have your account, you can get help using FactSet in the Online Assistant, but logging in is required. You can also access tutorials and information about FactSet Certification at FactSet Learning (requires logging in).
FactSet data coverage includes:
- Financial data on 70,000+ public and private companies worldwide with historical coverage for developed markets from 1980s and for emerging markets from 1990s
- Up-to 2,000 historical financial metrics data items for close to 100 countries
- Historical financial data on 5,000 global indices, as well as fixed income, commodities, alternative investments markets, and more
- Other items include bonds and loans, corporate governance, estimates, filings, mergers and acquisitions, mutual funds, ownership, private companies, and supply chain relationships.
Access to FactSet is available for academic, noncommercial use by students & faculty of W&L, and it is intended for advanced users. FactSet requires registration for an individual user account.
Accessing FactSet: Registration is required
- To get started with FactSet, new users must first register and create an individual account using a Washington and Lee University email address at: https://advantage.factset.com/academic_idrequest
- Upon completion of the registration form, ID requests are typically processed by FactSet within 72 business hours. You will receive an email directly from FactSet confirming your registration and providing login information.
For Assistance:
- You can get help using FactSet in the Online Assistant, and you should start here (requires logging in).
- Tutorials and information about FactSet Certification is available at FactSet Learning (requires logging in).
- For technical issues, contact the FactSet Help Desk at 1-877-FACTSET (available 24/7). This is not for help using the site itself, but technical issues about accessing the site.
- Email: academics@factset.com
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
This resource is available only to W&L users only. This database requires extensive understanding of financial and economic concepts and is recommended only for advanced users. Entering your W&L email address will give you a "day pass" that will grant access for one day; faculty should register for a personal account.
WRDS is a warehouse of financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface from the following resources providers: Compustat, CRSP, Federal Reserve System, FDIC, Dow Jones and other sources. Users primarily interested in company financial data should use Mergent Online.
Analysts' Reports
- Mergent's InvestorEdge This link opens in a new window
Mergent InvestorEdge houses over 4000 Equity Research Reports, updated weekly, providing expert analysis and buy, sell, and hold recommendations from Ford Equity Research.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data. Coverage includes: History; Mergers, acquisitions, disposals; Joint ventures; Business; Property; Subsidiaries; Officers and directors; News reports; Long-term debt; Bond ratings; Capital stock; Exchange and ticker symbol; Annual stock price ranges; Registrar; Transfer agent; Stock splits; Dividend payment history; Income statement; Cash flow statement; Balance sheet; Contact information; Auditors; Qualified auditors' report
Use Mergent Online to:
Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
Export company reports and financials into Word® or Excel®
Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
Compare multiple companies' reports
Retrieve EDGAR filings dating back to 1993 in Word® and Excel® formats.
FactSheets - Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new windowMorningstar offers analysis on 15,800 stocks, 26,500 mutual funds and 1,700 exchange traded funds (ETFs). While it is primarily designed as a tool for investors, it is also an excellent place to get quick information on a company.
The Company Stock Reports include analysis written by Morningstar’s experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders. Reports are available for the top 3000 companies but other information is available for many more.
Another useful feature is their industry returns section, which is under the markets tab. This has total return for broad industry segments and identifies the top companies in the sector, with links to more information on those companies.
Directories
- IQS Directorypresents the OEM manufacturing marketplace in the US and Canada into 180 industry categories each having hundreds of manufacturers. We have also created 25 major industry groups that encompass the 180 categories for further context of their inter-relationships within those categories
- ThomasNet.comComprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more. Search by state, company, or brand, browse by category, and download CAD drawings. Use Solusource to search worldwide.
Stock Quotes
Yahoo! Finance and the WSJ Market Data Center are good for current quotes, but if you want to download historical quotes, you should choose one of the following sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data. Coverage includes: History; Mergers, acquisitions, disposals; Joint ventures; Business; Property; Subsidiaries; Officers and directors; News reports; Long-term debt; Bond ratings; Capital stock; Exchange and ticker symbol; Annual stock price ranges; Registrar; Transfer agent; Stock splits; Dividend payment history; Income statement; Cash flow statement; Balance sheet; Contact information; Auditors; Qualified auditors' report
Use Mergent Online to:
Research 15 years of detailed financial statements
Customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need
Export company reports and financials into Word® or Excel®
Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables
Compare multiple companies' reports
Retrieve EDGAR filings dating back to 1993 in Word® and Excel® formats.
FactSheets - Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
This resource is available only to W&L users only. This database requires extensive understanding of financial and economic concepts and is recommended only for advanced users. Entering your W&L email address will give you a "day pass" that will grant access for one day; faculty should register for a personal account.
WRDS is a warehouse of financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface from the following resources providers: Compustat, CRSP, Federal Reserve System, FDIC, Dow Jones and other sources. Users primarily interested in company financial data should use Mergent Online.
Stock Market Indexes
- Common-Stock Indexes, 1871-1937According to the author, the purpose of the study "is to portray the average experience of those investing in this class of security in the United States from 1871 to 1937."
Wall Street Journal
Search for articles in the WSJ dating back to 1984.
Factiva -- limit to articles just in the Wall Street Journal by adding AND rst=j to your search
Reference Sources
Business Ratios and Formulas by
A complete appraisal of analytical tools available to managers to assess performance...
Call Number: HF5691 .B73 2012ISBN: 9781118169964Publication Date: 2012-04-03Financial statement analysis by
ISBN: 9781118064184 (e-book)Publication Date: 2011This book is designed to "provide the analytical framework you need to scrutinize financial statements," including guidelines on how to interpret balance sheets, income statements, and cash flow statements.
