Subject specific databases to search for scholarly literature
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premiere index to the journal literature of medicine and related fields. It covers over 3,800 journals from the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. The database is updated daily. Coverage extends back to 1966.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of Birds of North America. Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Each of the "species accounts" contain conservation and management issues, breeding and wintering maps, migration routes and habits, feeding habits, details of life at the nest, information on breeding, life span, mortality, disease. BNA Online also includes recordings of sounds and calls.
- MEDLINE - Academic This link opens in a new window
The premiere index to the journal literature of medicine and related fields. It covers over 3,800 journals from the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. The database is updated daily. Coverage extends back to 1966.
While searching library resources, you may only find a citation and possibly an abstract to tell you a little more, but you can easily access the full text with a few tricks.
In this example, the full text availability isn't available in the results list.
Clicking on "Access Now" will take you to an outside site linking you to the full text.
You may also see a button like this:
which will do the same.