Background Research
To feel fully confident searching scholarly literature, you need a general understanding of your topic. This might include:
- technical terms
- names of people important in the topic (researchers, patients, inventors, etc.)
- a general history of discovery on the topic
Wikipedia
"Pre-research" not citable research!
Every claim made on a Wikipedia article must link to a verifiable source, such as a journal article, book, or reputable website. Wikipedia is a great place to develop the "language" of your topic and get a general idea who the important people are and what the big events are for a topic. It's also an awesome way to find citable references!
W&L Library Catalog
Now that you know a little more, searching the library's catalog can help you find scholarly books, articles, encyclopedias, videos, and more.
You can find library catalog search on the library's homepage, library.wlu.edu
Helpful Reference Resources
A Dictionary of Biology
This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of research design and plant and animal development. Over 120 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus, now totalling over 5,600 authoritative and up-to-date entries. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms.
Encyclopedia of Biometrics
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive reference to topics in biometrics including concepts, modalities, algorithms, devices, systems, security, performance testing, applications and standardization. With an A-Z format and over 1400 entries, it provides easy access to relevant information on all aspects of biometrics for those seeking entry into this broad field. Entries are written by experts in biometrics and related fields. Comprehensive and tutorial, the Encyclopedia of Biometrics, 2nd Edition is a practical resource for experts in the field and professionals interested in aspects of biometrics.
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology
The Encyclopedia of Systems Biology is conceived as a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation. The main goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide a complete reference of established knowledge in systems biology - a 'one-stop shop' for someone seeking information on key concepts of systems biology. As a result, the Encyclopedia comprises a broad range of topics relevant in the context of systems biology.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought
This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors, and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of Origin of Species...
Encyclopedia of microbiology
Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields.
Spiders of the World
Spiders of the World is a captivating look at these wondrously adaptable and endlessly intriguing arachnids, written by six of the world's leading experts on spiders. This stunningly illustrated natural history features a wealth of spectacular color photos and covers a breathtaking array of spider species from around the globe, describing their behaviors, characteristics, and remarkable evolutionary adaptations. An incisive and engaging introduction provides an invaluable overview of the world's spiders, and is followed by in-depth profiles spanning more than 100 spider families and presented taxonomically. Each profile is organized phylogenetically and includes beautiful photography to illustrate various species within the family.
New Encyclopedia of Birds
Entries prepared by a team of renowned biologists and by Christopher M. Perrins, systematic account of every family, covering their form and function, distribution, diet, social biology. With one-eighth of all bird now under threat, special attention is given to environmental and conservation issues. The Encyclopedia's clear, readable text is supplemented by a wealth of photographs showing the wide diversity of birds in their natural habitat. In addition, beautiful line artworks depict representative species in each family and highlight characteristic distribution maps and scale drawings, put key data at the reader's fingertips. A fully revised and updated successor to the same editor's acclaimed Encyclopedia of Birds (1990), this comprehensive reference work will appeal both to the amateur birdwatcher and to the student of ornithology
Handbook of Molecular Life Sciences
Molecular Life Sciences: An Encyclopedic Reference will focus on understanding biological phenomena at the level of molecules and their interactions that govern life processes. The work will include articles on genes and genomes, protein structure and function, systems biology using genomics and proteomics as the focus, molecular aspects of cell structure and function, unifying concepts and theories from biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics that are essential for understanding the molecular life sciences (including teaching perspectives and assessment tools), and basic aspects of the various experimental approaches that are used in the Molecular Life Sciences.
Encyclopedia of theoretical ecology
This major reference is an overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales-from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology.
Encyclopedia of Entomology
The Encyclopedia of Entomology brings together the talents of over 350 distinguished entomologists from 36 countries to provide a detailed, global overview of insects and their close relatives, including taxonomy, behavior, ecology, physiology, history, and management. All the major groups of arthropods are treated, as are many important families and individual species. The Encyclopedia also covers physiology, genetics, ecology, behavior, insect relationships with people, medical entomology, and pest management. Detailed listings are also complemented by more than 1100 illustrations. Featured in this important work are unique biographical sketches of the hundreds of entomologists who have made important contributions to the discipline since its origin.
Encyclopedia of ecology
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced.
Encyclopedia of Biophysics
The Encyclopedia of Biophysics is envisioned both as an easily accessible source of information and as an introductory guide to the scientific literature. It includes entries describing both Techniques and Systems. In the Techniques entries, each of the wide range of methods which fall under the heading of Biophysics are explained in detail, together with the value and the limitations of the information each provides. Techniques covered range from diffraction (X-ray, electron and neutron) through a wide range of spectroscopic methods (X-ray, optical, EPR, NMR) to imaging (from electron microscopy to live cell imaging and MRI), as well as computational and simulation approaches. In the Systems entries, biophysical approaches to specific biological systems or problems - from protein and nucleic acid structure to membranes, ion channels and receptors - are described.
Oxford Dictionary of Zoology
The most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of its kind, the bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Zoology contains over 5,250 entries. Covering all aspects of the study of animals, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology. It provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. Fully revised and updated, this third edition includes new entries from the areas of behavioural ecology and conservation biology, as well as expanded coverage of cytology and numerous new illustrations. This edition contains many entry-level recommended web links, which are accessible via the Dictionary of Zoology companion website and provide valuable extra information.
A Dictionary of Genetics
This new edition of the Dictionary addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms, but in most cases, also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information. A Dictionary of Genetics is unique in that it includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which now intertwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies. Its 7,000 cross-referenced definitions are supported by an excellent collection ofline drawings, tables, and chemical formulae. ...