Recommended Databases
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Provides citations to over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources. Includes full-text articles from over 500 journals.
Ethics and Law
Social Media and the Law by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781315526126Publication Date: 2017-02-10... Social Media and the Law brings together thirteen media law scholars to address these questions and more, including current issues like copyright, online impersonation, anonymity, cyberbullying, sexting, and live streaming ...
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781444367072Publication Date: 2013-02-15... Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics ...
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781414436845Publication Date: 2011-01-21Largest available legal encyclopedia, 3rd edition (2010) consists of 14 volumes and includes nearly 5,000 alphabetically-arranged entries. Updated by American Law Yearbook.
Ethical Choices in Research by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781433821684Publication Date: 2016-01-01This book provides a comprehensive overview of ethical concerns researchers must face after collecting the study data ...
Handbook of Ethics in Quantitative Methodology by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781848728547Publication Date: 2011-01-20This comprehensive Handbook is the first to provide a practical, interdisciplinary review of ethical issues as they relate to quantitative methodology including how to present evidence for reliability and validity, what comprises an adequate tested population, and what constitutes scientific knowledge for eliminating biases ...
The SAGE Guide to Key Issues in Mass Media Ethics and Law by ISBN: 9781452274355Publication Date: 2015-04-24Surveys varied views on many of the most contentious issues involving mass media ethics and the law. The focus is on matters that regularly provide front-page headlines concerning rights and responsibilities of both speech and press, libel, technological threats to privacy, paparazzi and celebrities, sensationalism in media coverage of high-profile trials, cameras in the courtroom, federal and state freedom of information and "sunshine" laws, checkbook journalism, use of confidential sources, national security concerns and the press, digital duplication and deception, fair use, rights of celebrities, plagiarism and more.
Methods and Statistics
- Encyclopedia of Social MeasurementOver 300 signed articles in this database (published 2005) cover the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. You may preview the table of contents.
- Encyclopedia of Survey Research MethodsTwo-volume set, published in 2008, contains about 600 signed entries covering "major facets of survey research methodology..."
- Sage Handbook of Interview ResearchSecond edition (2012) begins with an "overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice." [ Preview ]
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology explores both the increasingly scientific endeavour of surveys and their growing complexity, as different data collection modes and information sources are combined.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781446282663Publication Date: 2016
- Improving Survey Methods: Lessons from Recent Research2014 review of "recent developments in survey research." You may preview the contents.
- Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods: From Hypothesis to ResultsTeaches how "to understand and apply procedural steps in completing quantitative studies. It explains statistics while progressing through the steps of the hypothesis-testing process from hypothesis to results."
- Statistics Translated : A Step-by-Step Guide to Analyzing and Interpreting Data2012 volume discusses "how the most common statistical tools can be used to answer interesting real-world questions." You may preview the contents.
Mass Communications and Media
- APA Handbook of Nonverbal Communication This 2016 volume contains over 20 reviews of topics in nonverbal communication and nonverbal behaviors.
- Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory 2014 "collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication."
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects presents a comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research Covers all aspects of the uses and impact of media, utilizing empirical, psychological, and critical research approaches to the field Features over 200 entries contributed by leading international scholars in their associated fields Offers invaluable insights to for students, scholars and professionals studying and working in related fields, and will stimulate new scholarship in emerging fields such as the Internet, Social Media and Mobile Communication Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781118784044Publication Date: 2017
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies, 7 Volume Set by
... Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Arranged across 7 thematic volumes - each of which features an accessible introduction exploring key themes - edited by an international team of expert scholars Explores media as it is being practiced, produced, and analyzed in Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and Europe Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, methodologies, effects, and futures.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1118733568Publication Date: 2014
Social Media Communication by
... Examining platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok, Twitter and YouTube, the book analyzes social media's use in journalism, public relations, advertising and marketing. Lipschultz focuses on key concepts, best practices, data analyses, law and ethics - all promoting the critical thinking that is needed to use new, evolving and maturing networking tools effectively within social and mobile media spaces ...
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781032251776Publication Date: 2023
