Central and Eastern European Politics and Societies
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
ABSEES contains over 55,000 records (1990-date) representing North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, including citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and government publications. ABSEES is updated monthly.
Development, Democracy, and Welfare States by Stephan Haggard; Robert R. Kaufman
This is the first book to compare the distinctive welfare states of Latin America, East Asia, and Eastern Europe. Stephan Haggard and Robert Kaufman trace the historical origins of social policy in these regions to crucial political changes in the mid-twentieth century, and show how the legacies of these early choices are influencing welfare reform following democratization and globalization.
ISBN: 0691135959
Publication Date: 2008
From Peoples into Nations by John Connelly
In this sweeping narrative history of Eastern Europe since the late eighteenth century, John Connelly connects the stories of the region's diverse peoples, telling how, at a profound level, they have a shared understanding of the past. An ancient history of invasion and migration made the region into a cultural landscape of extraordinary variety, a patchwork in which Slovaks, Bosnians, and countless others live shoulder to shoulder and where calls for national autonomy often have had bloody effects among the interwoven ethnicities. Connelly traces the rise of nationalism in Polish, Austro-Hungarian, and Ottoman lands; the creation of new states after the First World War and their later absorption by the Nazi Reich and the Soviet Bloc; the reemergence of democracy and separatist movements after the collapse of communism; and the recent surge of populist politics throughout the region. Because of this common experience of upheaval, East Europeans are people with an acute feeling for the precariousness of history: they know that nations are not eternal, but come and go; sometimes they disappear. From Peoples into Nations tells their story.
ISBN: 0691189188
Publication Date: 2020
European Journal of Political Research -- Political Data Yearbook
This annual compilation "documents election results, national referenda, changes in government, and institutional reforms in all of the EU member states, plus Australia, Canada, Iceland, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, and the United States," with additional commentary. An interactive site is also available.
Political Handbook of the World
Most recent edition of this annually-published country-by-country guide to government and politics around the world, covering recent history, current issues, political parties and institutions, and more. Also provides information on about 50 international governmental organizations.
Strategic Survey
An essential resource that encompasses a review of world affairs from the Institute for Strategic Studies.
East European Politics and Societies
East European Politics and Societies (EEPS) is an international, interdisciplinary journal for the examination of critical issues related to Eastern Europe. It serves as a forum for current work in East Europe studies, including comparative analyses and theoretical issues with implications for other world areas. Its geographical scope is the area that lies between Germany to the west and Russia to the east, and includes the Baltic region and the Balkans.
Journal of Democracy
Focusing exclusively on democracy, the Journal monitors and analyzes democratic regimes and movements around the world. Each issue features a unique blend of scholarly analysis, reports from democratic activists, updates on news and elections, and reviews of important recent books.
Eurozine
An online magazine and a network of European cultural journals.
Transitions Online
A source for independent journalism from Central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe, Turkey, and Eurasia.
World Newspapers
A collection of world newspapers organized by country.
Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopedia
2011 volume provides "descriptions of more than 100 European ethnic and national groups. [ Preview ]
Handbook of European Societies
Subtitled Social Transformations in the 21st Century, this 2010 volume offers signed, comparative essays on "major topics of social concern and sociological relevance" concerning modern European countries. [ Preview ]
Life in Post-Communist Eastern Europe after EU Membership
2012 volume contains individual overviews of each of 10 states in Eastern Europe. [ Preview ]
Maps of Europe
University of Texas map library, consisting mostly of scanned CIA maps.
Sage Handbook of European Studies
The 30+ signed essays in this 2009 volume offer multidisciplinary, balanced coverage of political, social, economic, cultural and institutional dimensions of modern Europe. [ Preview ]
Nations in Transit
"Comprehensive, comparative, and multidimensional study of reform in the former Communist states of Europe and Eurasia."
The Handbook of Political Change in Eastern Europe by
This third edition of The Handbook of Political Change in Eastern Europeprovides an authoritative and thorough analysis of the political changes, which have occurred in Central and Eastern Europe since the demise of communism. It offers an historical, comparative perspective of the region and focuses on the social consequences of the democratization process.
ISBN: 9780857935373Publication Date: 2013
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by
A 21st century approach to the study of politics
ISBN: 1933116447Publication Date: 2010
