Librarian
The following are resources that people who are delving deeper into a topic would find useful. These journals and books generally have more depth, are theory based, and/or involve empirical research, while the databases are subject-focused.
Databases
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window A combination of Harvard's Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute. It covers hundreds of anthropology and archaeology journals and other relevant scholarly sources, including essays and chapters from edited books, with significant full-text provision.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
Journals
- American Sociological Review From the publisher: "the American Sociological Association’s flagship journal. The ASA founded this journal in 1936 with the mission to publish original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. All areas of sociology are welcome in ASR. Emphasis is on exceptional quality and general interest."
- The American Journal of Sociology From the publisher: "the American Journal of Sociology (AJS) presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. AJS strives to speak to the general sociology reader and is open to contributions from across the social sciences—sociology, political science, economics, history, anthropology, and statistics—that seriously engage the sociological literature to forge new ways of understanding the social."
- Social Forces From the publisher: "Social Forces publishes articles of interest to a general social science audience and emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry as well as explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics."
- Annual Review of Sociology From the publisher: "The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Reviews typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world."
- Sociology Compass From the publisher: "Welcome to Sociology Compass, an international journal publishing peer-reviewed research articles and surveys of current research from across the entire discipline, with the aim of providing topical and significant research on a monthly basis."
- Social Problems From the publisher: "Social Problems, the official publication of The Society for the Study of Social Problems, is a quarterly journal that covers an extensive array of complex social concerns from race and gender to labor relations to environmental issues and human rights, it has been an important forum for sociological thought for over six decades."
- Sociological Forum From the publisher: "The journal is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high quality research on substantive issues of fundamental importance to the study of society. The journal’s mission is broad in scope, encompassing empirical works (both quantitative and qualitative), as well as works that develop theories, concepts or methodological strategies. We also consider important replications and timely commentary. All areas of sociology are welcome in Sociological Forum, as the journal strives to create a site of learning and exchange for scholars and students of the social sciences."
- The Sociological Quarterly From the publisher: "The Sociological Quarterly is devoted to publishing cutting-edge scholarship in all areas of sociological inquiry. We look for articles that advance the discipline and reach the widest possible audience. Our focus is on publishing the best theoretical, methodological and empirical (qualitative and quantitative) sociology. Since 1960, the contributors, peer-reviewers, advisory editors, and readers of The Sociological Quarterly have made it one of the leading generalist journals in the field."
- American Anthropologist From the publisher: "the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association...he journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits"
- Current Anthropology From the publisher: "Established more than sixty years ago, Current Anthropology is the leading broad-based journal in the field. It seeks to publish the best theoretical and empirical research across all subfields of the discipline, ranging from the origins of the human species to the interpretation of the complexities of modern life."
- Journal of Human Evolution From the publisher: "concentrates on publishing the highest quality papers covering all aspects of human evolution. The central focus is aimed jointly at paleoanthropological work, covering human and primate fossils, and at comparative studies of living species, including both morphological and molecular evidence. These include descriptions of new discoveries, interpretative analyses of new and previously described material, and assessments of the phylogeny and paleobiology of primate species."
- Journal of Material Culture From the publisher: "Journal of Material Culture explores the relationship between artefacts and social relations. It draws on a range of disciplines including anthropology, archaeology, design studies, history, human geography and museology."
- Annual Review of Anthropology From the publisher: "The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology."
- Cultural Anthropology From the publisher: "Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests."