Physical Course Reserves
Several course texts are available on physical reserve in Leyburn Library for the course: Food & Tea in Japan
What does that mean?
Physical reserve books are held behind Leyburn's Information Desk and have abbreviated checkout periods--often 2, 4, or 24 hours.
How do I use these materials?
- Walk up to Leyburn Library's Information Desk.
- Ask the staff member at the Information Desk to retrieve a specific item from LIT 223's course reserve--remember to give them the full item title.
- The staff member will check out the item to you for an abbreviated period of time.
Review LIT 223's physical course reserves.
Looking for information relating to Food & Tea in Japan?
Find books through the library catalog:
- Looking for books on the tea ceremony? Try searching the Library Catalog with the subject "Japanese Tea Ceremony."
- Looking for books on Japanese food culture? Try searching the Library Catalog with the subject "Food habits -- Japan" or "Cooking, Japanese."
Discover articles through the library catalog AND relevant databases:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full-text access to about 600 journals from academic publishers.
Request Materials through Interlibrary Loan:
The Library can't own or subscribe to every piece of research ever created...that's why we have interlibrary loan!
If you need to use an article or book not in the library's collection, place an interlibrary loan request. The University Library can borrow materials from libraries across the globe.
Ebooks on the Japanese Tea Ceremony & Tea Culture
-
Art of Chabana
by
The Art of Chabana is devoted to the exquisite art of Japanese flower arranging for the tea ceremony. Chabana is a simple arrangement of floral or other plant material traditionally placed in the tokonoma, or alcove, of the room in which the tea ceremony is performed. There are no rules in arranging Chabana, the author tells us, no special measurements or geometric patterns, Rather, the creator of a Chabana must use his imagination and, most of all, a special inspiration from within...
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1462912257Publication Date: 1974 -
-
Chado the Way of Tea: A Japanese tea master's almanac
by
"Chado the Way of Tea: A Japanese Tea Master's Almanac" is a translation of the Japanese classic Sado-saijiki, first published in 1960. Covering tea-related events in Japan throughout the year, Master Sasaki provides vignettes of festivals and formal occasions, and as well as the traditional contemplative poetry that is a part of the tea ceremony..."
Call Number: Ebook (also available in print @ GT2910 .S345 2002)ISBN: 9786613787989Publication Date: 2002 -
Cultivating Femininity: Women and Tea Culture in Edo and Meiji Japan
by
Call Number: Ebook (also available in print @ GT2910 .C67 2018)ISBN: 082487207XPublication Date: 2018 -
A Dictionary of Japanese Food
by
Richard Hoskings eliminates the mystery by ensuring that each entry in the Japanese-English section includes the Japanese term in Roman script; the term in kana or kanji or both; a Latin name where appropriate; an English definition; and, for most entries, a short annotation. The English-Japanese section defines important English food terms in Japanese and annotates those needing explanation. One hundred small line drawings make it easy for readers to identify everything from mitsuba to the okoze fish, and seventeen appendices address the most critical elements of Japanese cuisine, from the making of miso and the structure of the Japanese meal to the tea ceremony.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781462903436Publication Date: 2014-01-14 -
The Japanese Tea Ceremony - an Introduction
by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to chado, the Japanese tea ceremony. Unlike other books on the subject, which focus on practice or historical background or specific issues, this book considers the subject from multiple perspectives. It discusses Japanese aesthetics and philosophy, outlines how the tea ceremony has developed, emphasizing its strong links to Zen Buddhism and the impact of other religion influences, and examines how chado reflects traditional gender and social status roles in Japan. It goes on to set out fully the practice of chado, exploring dress, utensils, location - the garden and the tea house - and the tea itself and accompanying sweets. ...
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1003248667Publication Date: 2022 -
The Japanese Tea Ceremony: Cha-no-Yu and the Zen Art of Mindfulness.
by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1462920632Publication Date: 2019 -
Japanese tea culture: The heart and form of Chanoyu by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9784866582467Publication Date: 2022 -
The Japanese Way of Tea
by
Almost a millennium before the perfection of chado (the Way of Tea) by Sen Rikyu (1522-1591), the Chinese scholar-official Lu Yu (d. 785) wrote exhaustively about tea and its virtues. Grand Tea Master Sen Soshitsu begins his examination of tea's origins and development from the eighth century through the Heian and medieval eras. This volume illustrates that modes of thinking and practices now associated with the Japanese Way of Tea can be traced to China--where from the classical period tea was imbued with a spiritual quality.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 0824864808Publication Date: 1997 -
-
Stories from a Tearoom Window
by
Call Number: Ebook (also available in print @ GT2910 .C56813 1982)ISBN: 4805314087Publication Date: 1982 -
Zen Flowers
by
This Zen flower arranging book teaches the delicate art of Japanese Chabana—the precursor to ikebana...
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1462901476Publication Date: 1992
