Librarian
Articles About Your City
You can use this search option to discover articles about your city via two databases to which W&L subscribes -- Academic Search Complete and SocIndex..
- Start by click on this link: history OR politic* OR social OR guide* OR neighborhood* OR race OR ethnic* OR urban OR development OR planning OR housing OR segregation OR migra* OR industr* OR population OR demograph*
This will yield a huge number of article citations -- 10 million-ish. To narrow the results to your city, do the following:
- Enter the name of your city in the second search box (below the initial list of terms).
- Use the drop-down menus ("Select a field") to the right of the top two search boxes to change the label to "SU Subject Terms." Your search box should look something like this:
- Click "Search."
This search will result in a list of citations to academic journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews,and more. In most cases, the text of the article will be provided.
Additional Academic Journals and More
If you wish to explore still more academic journals and similar sources, you can try the databases listed below.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source covers business journals, magazines, and newspapers. About 7,000 publications, over 2,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals, as well as other resources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. You might try changing the "select a field" drop-down menu to "CO Company Entity" before searching for a company name.
- Think Tanks, Public Policy Groups, and Advocacy GroupsThink tanks and public policy, advocacy, and research groups provide a great deal of information in a wide range of subject areas. See the "Think Tank Search" option.
Getting an Article's Text
In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.
But what do you do when the text is not immediately available? How do you know if we have access to an article?
This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.
Interlibrary Loan
This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S. Click here to begin. (For more information, see this page.)
Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?
You usually can answer this question by searching our Full Text Journal List.