Profile
Article Databases
Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, newspapers, and major academic/scholarly journals.
A good starting point for looking for article is the library catalog.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources. Includes full-text articles from over 500 journals.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Article Databases -- Newspapers
NewsBank Access World News
Use this commercial database to search a state's newspapers (and other media sources) for recent articles, all of which are provided in full-text form.
- Just click on the map for your state.
- You will need to enter at least one search term -- maybe a candidate's name.
- Search results initially will be arranged by "Best Matches First." For the most recent coverage, click on the "View -- Newest First" option, above the list of results.
If you want to just browse through the sites of newspapers in your own state, OnlineNewspapers.com is a great starting point.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables current W&L undergraduate students, faculty, and staff to use other libraries' collections to borrow books or other printed materials and/or receive electronic copies of articles.