Searching in Newspaper Databases
Here are databases which specialize in searching and providing texts of newpaper articles published from the 1990's to date. (In some databases, earlier articles are also included.)
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cover-to-cover coverage of over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selective full-text coverage for an additional 335 U.S. newspapers and transcripts from broadcast news sources. In most cases, chronological coverage extends back only several years, although some coverage begins in the 1990's.
"Political Insider" Sources for Contemporary Coverage
The first two sources below probably present the most respected coverage of national politics.
CQ Weekly. Congressional Quarterly.
National Journal. National Journal. Includes Hotline.
C-Span. C-Span.
The Hill. The Hill.
Politico. Capitol News Company.
Roll Call. (Includes Politics section and At The Races blog.)
Sabato's Crystal Ball. University of Virginia.
Real Clear Politics. Compilation of articles from other sources.
New York Times Personal Account
New York Times
The University Library has partnered with the New York Times to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com mobile app.
Faculty/Staff will be provided with an academic pass valid for 4 years. Students will be provided an academic pass valid until December 31, of the graduation year they select.
Setting up your account
NEW subscribers
- Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
- In the "Find School" box, type in Washington and Lee University and follow the instructions.
- If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID NYT subscription
- If you have an active paid subscription, you will first need to cancel your personal subscription. You can do this by connecting with a chat agent on the site or calling 800-698-4637.
- After you cancel your paid account, you can follow the directions below to claim your complimentary subscription.
EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription
- Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
- Click on "Already have an account "Log In" (Found below "Create An Account").
- Input your email address and the same password created for your previous account.
- If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.