W&L Resources
- African Diaspora, 1860-Present …African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.
- ProQuest History Vault: NAACP Papers The History Vault contains manuscripts and archival collections that focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, and American Politics and Society.Many of the collections in the History Vault were originally available in microfilm.Accessible within the History Vault you will find: - NAACP Papers for the Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files- NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces- NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window Contains over 7,500 articles from Oxford University Press publications, some of which are not yet available in printed form, as well as primary source materials, maps, images, and more. In some cases, the entire contents of a publication might be included, such as the brand-new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619 to 1895 and the forthcoming African American National Biography and Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture.
- Student Association for Black Unity (SABU) Curated Collection "Collections curated by the Student Association for Black Unity [SABU], in celebration of Black History Month. Includes individual collections spanning several years."
Outside Resources
- BlackPast According to the site, "it is a 'crowd sourced' online encyclopedia on African American history and the history of people of African ancestry outside the United States. Its success is built on a network of more than 700 volunteer contributors from six continents. All BlackPast.org articles are vetted for historical accuracy and copy-edited before they appear. BlackPast.org reserves the right to refuse any submitted entry that does not meet its standards for accuracy and objectivity." BlackPast was founded by University of Washington Professor Quintard Taylor and his graduate assitant, George Tamblyn.
- The History Makers "The HistoryMakers is a national 501 (c ) (3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans. Through the media and a series of user-friendly products, services and events, The HistoryMakers enlightens, entertains and educates the public, helping to refashion a more inclusive record of American history."
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources (ProQuest) This open-access website from ProQuest provides a selection of primary source documents useful for a wide range of students, teachers, and independent scholars. It contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860) 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877) 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932) 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945) 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975) 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
- Digital Schomburg Selected Links Curated list of links to free, high-quality databases of books, articles, oral histories, images, maps, interviews, and television programs. Some sites are specifically devoted to Africa and/or the African Diaspora, while others are more general but include materials of interest to research in the history and cultures of the black world.
- Hip Hop Radio Archive "The Hip-Hop Radio Archive aims to digitize, preserve, share, and contextualize recordings of hip-hop radio from the 1980s and 1990s."
- National Park Service: African American Heritage Sites "America's national parks weave together a mosaic of African American history. A large patchwork of National Park Service sites were founded because of their pivotal places in history. Other sites highlight the untold stories—the no-less-important, every-day-remarkable stories of African Americans in history."
- Library of Congress: Manuscripts from the Libraries of Timbuktu "These ancient manuscripts cover every aspect of human endeavor. The manuscripts are indicative of the high level of civilization attained by West Africans during the Middle Ages and provide irrefutable proof of a powerful African literary tradition. Scholars in the fields of Islamic Studies and African Studies believe that analysis of these texts will cause Islamic, West African, and World History to be reevaluated. These manuscripts, surviving from as long ago as the fourteenth century, are remarkable artifacts important to Malian and West African culture. The exhibited manuscripts date from the sixteenth to eighteenth century."