Resources in Special Collections and Archives
-
Behind the scenes : or, Thirty years a slave, and four years in the White House byCall Number: E457.15 .K26 1868Publication Date: 1868Behind the Scenes is the life story of Elizabeth Keckley, a shrewd entrepreneur who, while enslaved, raised enough money to purchase freedom for herself and her son. This volume is available in Special Collections and Archives
-
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
by
Call Number: PS3551.N464 Z466 1969ISBN: 0394429869Publication Date: 1969A signed first edition, first printing of "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings" is available in our very own Special Collections and Archives. -
Peeny Butter Fudge
by
Call Number: PZ8.3.M836 Pe 2009ISBN: 9781416983323Publication Date: 2009A signed first edition of Toni Morrison's "Peeny Butter Fudge" is available in our Special Collections and Archives. -
Survivor byCall Number: PS3552 .U827 1978Publication Date: 1978-03-01A Signed 1st Edition Advanced Reader Copy of "Survivor" is available in Special Collections and Archives.
-
Walker-Wood Family Papers (WLU-Coll-0294)These papers include many photographs and items concerning the Walker and Wood families, their homes, their activities; and material about the economic, social, educational, and religious life of the African-American community in Lexington, Virginia. Includes a typed letter written and signed by Virginia governor James H. Price, dated July 2, 1940, anniversary booklets of the First Baptist Church of Lexington, Virginia, and newspaper clippings. This collection has been digitized and made available at https://dspace.wlu.edu/handle/11021/35168.