Bar Exam Resources Guide

The resources linked below are often useful for bar applicants preparing for exams in particular states, and/or preparing to practice in specific areas of law often popular with W&L Law graduates.
 

Some linked resources require valid W&L login credentials or Lexis/Westlaw access. For questions or reference assistance, email LawRef@wlu.edu.

All MBE Jurisdictions

• National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) MBE subject matter outlines

All UBE Jurisdictions

• National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) MEE subject matter outlines
• Past MEE questions with analyses
• Past MPTs with analyses

California

• Lexis:
  • Witkin Summary of California Law (West)  
  • California Points & Authorities (Bender/Lexis)
  • California Jurisprudence 3d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Westlaw:
  • California Civil Practice (West)
  • Witkin’s California Materials (West)
  • California Jurisprudence 3d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • The Recorder (law.com)
  • Daily Journal (California Lawyer)

Florida

• Lexis:
  • Florida Civil Procedure (Bender/Lexis)
  • Florida Civil Trial Practice (FLCLE) (Florida Bar)
  • Florida Jurisprudence 2d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Westlaw:
  • Florida Practice Series (West)
  • Trawick’s Florida Practice & Procedure (West)
  • Florida Jurisprudence 2d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • Florida Bar News & Journal

Georgia

• Lexis:
  • Georgia Civil Practice (Bender/Lexis)
• Westlaw:
  • Davis & Shulman’s Georgia Practice & Procedure (West)
  • Handbook on Georgia Practice with Forms (West)
  • Georgia Jurisprudence (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • Georgia Bar Journal

New York

• Lexis:
  • New York Civil Practice: CPLR (Weinstein Korn & Miller) (Bender/Lexis)
  • New York Jurisprudence 2d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Westlaw:
  • Carmody-Wait 2d New York Practice with Forms (West)  
  • New York Practice Series (West)
  • Siegel’s New York Practice (West)  
  • New York Jurisprudence 2d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • New York Law Journal (law.com)
  • New York State Bar Association Journal

North Carolina

• Lexis:
  • North Carolina General Practitioner’s Guide to Litigation (N.C. Bar Association)
  • North Carolina General Practice Deskbook (N.C. Bar Association)
  • North Carolina Civil Procedure (Bender/Lexis)
• Westlaw:
  • North Carolina Practice Series (West)
  • Shuford North Carolina Civil Practice & Procedure with Appellate Advocacy
  • Strong’s North Carolina Index (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • North Carolina Lawyers Weekly

Pennsylvania

• Lexis:
  • Pennsylvania Civil Practice (Bender/Lexis)
  • Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia (Bender/Lexis)
• Westlaw:
  • Standard Pennsylvania Practice 2d (West)
  • Pennsylvania Practice Series (West)
  • Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Legal News:
  • The Legal Intelligencer – Pennsylvania Law Weekly News (law.com)

Texas

• Lexis:
  • Dorsaneo, Texas Litigation Guide (Bender/Lexis)
  • Texas Jurisprudence 3d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
• Westlaw:
  • Texas Practice Series (West)
  • Texas Jurisprudence 3d (state legal encyclopedia – West)
  • McDonald & Carlson Texas Civil Practice
• Legal News:
  • Texas Lawyer (law.com)

Virginia

• Sample 10-point answers to past Virginia Bar Exam essay questions (VBBE)
• Unofficial answers/comments to past Virginia Bar Exam essay questions (W&M)
• Virginia Law and Practice: A Handbook for Attorneys (Va. CLE) – Library Res. Room | PDF
• Sinclair and Middleditch, Virginia Civil Procedure – Lexis | Library Reserve Room
• Sinclair on Virginia Remedies – Lexis | Library Stacks 1A
• Rendleman, Enforcement of Judgments and Liens in Virginia – Lexis | Library Stacks 1A
• Michie’s Jurisprudence of VA and WV (Bender/Lexis) – Lexis | Library Main Reading Room 3A
• Virginia Practice Series (West) – Westlaw | Library Stacks 1A & Reading Room 3A
• Legal News:
  • Virginia Lawyers Weekly (sign up for Daily Alerts) – Online Access via Law Library

Oil and Gas Law

• Lexis:
  • Williams & Meyers, Oil and Gas Law (Bender/Lexis)
  • Kuntz, Law of Oil and Gas (Bender/Lexis)
  • Energy Law and Transactions, David J. Muchow and William A. Mogel (Bender/Lexis)
• Westlaw:
  • Summers Oil and Gas (West)
  • Steven Ferrey, Law of Independent Power (West)
• Other:
  • Energy Law in a Nutshell – Library Reserve Room | West Study Aids Online
  • Oil and Gas Law in a Nutshell – Library Reserve Room | West Study Aids Online
  • Oil and Gas Law and Taxation – Library Stacks | West Study Aids Online

Community Property

• John E.B. Myers, California Community Property: Guide to the Course and the Bar Exam – West Study Aids Online
• Community Property in a Nutshell – Library Reserve Room | West Study Aids Online
• Gilbert Law Summaries on Community Property – West Study Aids Online
• Sum and Substance Audio on Community Property – West Study Aids Online