Bar Exam Resources Guide

This Guide was created to assist W&L law students in preparing for the bar exam.

Helpful Information

Contact us!

For additional information on print and electronic resources available to you and the information on this Guide, please contact a librarian at LawRef@wlu.edu

For additional information on W&L bar courses, the bar exam components, studying assistance and tips, creating a bar exam study schedule, etc., please contact Prof. Leila Lawlor at llawlor@wlu.edu

For questions regarding the bar exam application process or materials, please contact Dean Maria Saez Tatman at msaeztatman@wlu.edu

Looking for a Notary?

In the Law School:

Sue Coffey, Lewis Hall 233A (540-458-8981 or CoffeyS@wlu.edu)

Brittany Fix, Lewis Hall 348 (540-458-8550 or BFix@wlu.edu)

Victoria Johnston, Lewis Hall 348 (540-458-8544 or VJohnston@wlu.edu)

Brianne Kleinert, Lewis Hall 245 (540-458-8567 or KleinertB@wlu.edu)

Emma Martone, Lewis Hall 324 (540-458-8541 or EMartone@wlu.edu)

Sheryl Salm, Lewis Hall 105 (540-458-8482 or SalmS@wlu.edu)

Milea Webb, Lewis Hall 322 (540-458-8584 or MWebb@wlu.edu)

Other Notaries on W&L's campus are listed online

     

The D.C. bar exam will be administered on July 30-31, 2024.

Applications are due May 9, 2024. Late applications will not be accepted.

For additional information, please visit the District of Columbia Courts, Committee on Admissions website

District of Columbia Bar Exam Details

The District of Columbia utilizes the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE).

The UBE is composed of the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Examination (MEE), and the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) which are prepared by, given, and graded in accordance with the standards established by the National Conference of Bar Examiners. Additional information regarding the content of the UBE is available here under the UBE tab and at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/ube.

The UBE will be given in DC twice a year on the last consecutive Tuesday and Wednesday of February and July. 

A scaled score of 266 on the UBE is required for admission in DC. 

UBE Schedule:

Tuesday AM: MEE (6 essays, 3 hours) 

Tuesday PM: MPT (2 items, 3 hours)

Wednesday AM: MBE (100 questions, 3 hours) 

Wednesday PM: MBE (100 questions, 3 hours)

Study Resources for the DC Bar Exam

There are multiple resources that provide sample questions and answers for the UBE: