Primary Source Search Strategies
If researching Washington and Lee University's history, a great place to start is with W&L's Special Collections & Archives. Remember, not all primary sources are available online.
The process of navigating archives, and archival material, differs conducting traditional library database research, in that:
- Archival research can requires an in-person visit.
- Specific words used for types of materials, like ephemera or incunabula
- Users search "finding aid" collections in order to identify relevant sources--not merely searching a library catalog.
Thankfully, the Society for American Archivists, created a guide that highlights:
- How archives function
- How to identify appropriate archives for your research
- How to access historical materials and research at an archives
Access the full guide by clicking this button! 
Search W&L's Holdings
W&L's Special Collections & Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible materials supporting the diverse teaching and research needs of our students, faculty, staff, and the greater community. For questions, SpecialCollections@wlu.edu.
- Digital ArchivePreserve, share, and enhance the use of materials owned or created by WLU and members of its community by making these materials available in a digital format.
- ArchivesSpaceLocation to browse and search for Finding Aids. Finding Aids document and describe physical manuscripts within Special Collections & Archives.
Existing Scholarship & Exhibits on W&L
- Institutional History: W&L Special Collections & Archives Digital ExhibitsExplore a growing collection of primary source content, organized as digital exhibits. Currently includes collections concerning:
- Integration at W&L
- Jewish Life at W&L
- Slavery at W&L
- University Chapel