Books: Selected Works
Paid-for Primary Source Collections
- Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Scholarly &/or Secondary Sources
The below databases are good places to start when looking for scholarly secondary sources on historical topics related to East Asia.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to about 600 journals from academic publishers.
If your topic is interdisciplinary, one of the following databases may be helpful.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
"Deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of nearly 300 journals, including 262 peer-reviewed publications, "covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy."
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Nearly 600,000 entries from over 2,000 periodicals and other sources, dating back to the 1970's, on the "core disciplines in Women's Studies." Materials include: journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; reports, theses and dissertations; book chapters; and more.