Get Help!
Profile
Articles: International Trade Topics
- EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A leading index and abstracting service for business and management, and it provides indexing and abstracts to articles from thousands of business and management publications. Many articles are available in full-text. Abstracting coverage begins with 1971.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source covers business journals, magazines, and newspapers. About 7,000 publications, over 2,000 of which are peer-reviewed journals, as well as other resources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. You might try changing the "select a field" drop-down menu to "CO Company Entity" before searching for a company name.
Reference Sources
- Country Commercial Guides Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department and other U.S. agencies professionals.
- Country Profiles Collection of respected sources which provide country-by-country data and analysis. Some offer broad overviews of conditions and issues, while others focus on narrower issues -- human rights, business, press freedom, energy, etc.
- Doing Business Archive While discontinued in 2020, the Doing Business Archive still provides information on business regulations if 190 economies. To be replaced by Business Ready in September 2024 (see link below).
- OECD Economic Surveys OECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Member country reviews are generally done on an 18 month cycle,while non-member reviews are done as agreed with the subject country. A minimum of 18 surveys are done each year. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.
Business Ready (B-READY) by
Business Ready (B-READY) is the World Bank’s new flagship report benchmarking the business environment and investment climate in most economies worldwide. The report assesses the regulatory framework and public services directed at firms, and the efficiency with which regulatory framework and public services are combined in practice. First report is due out in September 2024.
Publication Date: annual
- WTO Trade profiles Trade profiles provide a series of key indicators on trade in goods and services for over 190 economies, highlighting the major exports and imports for each economy as well as their main trading partners.
Statistics and Data
- Direction of Trade Statistics Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents data on the value of merchandise exports and imports by a country's primary trading partners. Area and world aggregates are included in the display of trade flows between major areas of the world. This resource is provided by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
- export.gov Portal to U.S. Government information relevant to U.S. exporters, including news, market reports, trade assistance programs, and more.
- International Trade Data Foreign trade statistics at national and state levels from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a excellent source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic economics. It reports, for most countries of the world, data needed in the analysis of international payments, consumer and producer prices, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, production, government accounts, and national accounts.
- International trade and tariff data The World Trade Organization provides access to their trade and tariff information and data.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is one of the world‘s largest statistics portals, providing data compiled from 18,000 private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia. All statistics and forecasts can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
- TradeStats Express TradeStats Express displays the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics at the national and state levels through maps, graphs, and tables. Available data includes exports, imports, and trade balances. This site is from the Dept. of Commerce, International Trade Administration.
- UN Comtrade United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade) provides annual trade statistics by commodities for over170 reporting countries.
- U.S. Trade & International Transactions (FRED) Trade data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis