Get Help!
What are you looking for
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by
With over 5,500 - including 150 new - accessible entries, this sixth edition of the bestselling Dictionary of Finance and Banking has been fully revised and updated to take into account the ever-developing financial landscape of the last five years. This comprehensive A-Z defines terms fromall aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded international coverage to reflect the on-going globalization of financial marketsand the growing importance of development finance, with new entries such as village banking, Islamic Development Bank, and M-Pesa.Quick links for additional online resources relating to the field can also be found on the companion website to expand reading and delve deeper into the world of finance and banking.With clear and accessible definitions, this jargon-free dictionary is a companion volume to the other financial titles in this bestselling series (A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Accounting, and A Dictionary of Economics), and provides accurate and valuable information forstudents, practitioners, private investors, and readers of the financial pages alike.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780198789741Publication Date: 2018
Bank Profiles and Reports
- National Information Center (NIC)The National Information Center (NIC) is a central repository of data about banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest, including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the United States.
Federal Reserve
The Federal Reserve Board and the 12 Federal Reserve Districts (map)
| Atlanta | Boston | Chicago |
| Cleveland | Dallas | Kansas City |
| Minneapolis | New York | Philadelphia |
| Richmond | St. Louis | San Francisco |
- Beige BookSummary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District
- ALFREDALFRED is a collection of "vintage" versions of U.S. economic data. Economic data for past observation periods are often revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available (use FRED for current data). ALFRED makes it possible to gather data as reported by a source on past dates in history.
- FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)On this web site you will find links to scanned images (in PDF format) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED provides 35,000 economic time series from 38 sources. FRED also provides an Excel add-in to access economic data directly from Excel.
- Data Sources for Discontinued Statistical Supplement to the Federal Reserve BulletinStatistics no longer included in the Bulletin.
- Fed in Print This database provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks.
- Federal Open Market CommitteeThe FOMC is the Federal Reserve committee that makes key decisions about interest rates and the growth of the United States money supply.
- Page One EconomicsPage One Economics website is maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and offers the data behind the economics, including a data "starter set" from the FRED website, to provide deeper understanding of important economic issues.
- Statistics & Historical DataFederal Reserve Board statistical releases
FDIC
Data sources from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC):
- Bank Data & Statistics Use searchable databases to find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.
- FDIC QuarterlyThe FDIC Quarterly provides a comprehensive summary of the most current financial results for the banking industry, along with feature articles.
- Historical Statistics on Banking (HSOB)This site offers annual financial and structure data on FDIC-insured banks and savings institutions, beginning in 1934. It includes state-level tables, as well as annual lists of failed commercial banks and savings.
- Bank Data Guide The FDIC offers many economic and financial resources through its public web site. This Bank Data Guide is a summary of the tools that are available.
Other Banking Sources
- Central bank Websites The Bank for International Settlements provides a list of links to the central bank for each country.
- National Information Center (NIC)The National Information Center (NIC) is a central repository of data about banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest, including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the United States.
- Statistics at a GlanceStatistics at a Glance provides the latest quarterly and historical data for FDIC-insured institutions, the FDIC insurance fund, and the number of FDIC employees beginning with the June 2001 issue.