Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Collection of respected sources which provide country-by-country data and analysis. Some offer broad overviews of conditions and issues, while others focus on narrower issues -- human rights, business, press freedom, energy, etc.
Routledge Handbook on Middle East Security provides the first comprehensive look at Middle East security issues that includes both traditional and emerging security threats. Taking a broad perspective on security, the volume offers both analysis grounded in the 'hard' military and state security discourse but also delves into the 'soft' aspects of security employing a human security perspective
Four-volume set (2012) use cultural sociology ("how culture inflects and affects social structures and organizations,
whether at the community, national, or global level") to study these regions of the world.
Chapters in this 2014 volume include both broad theoretical and historical perspectives and more focused case studies (including Western Sahara/Morocco, Algeria, Israel/Palestine; Sudan; United Arab Emirates, and Iraq). You may preview the contents.
Two-part handbook, published in 2013, provides (1) some theoretical background and analysis of patterns and challenges of political, economic, and governmental performance and (2) specific cases in countries and regions. You may preview the contents.
Generally considered the most respected English-language reference resource on all aspects of Islam, presenting the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." The third edition began publication in 2007.
This six-volume set (2010) updates, but does not replace, the original Cambridge History of Islam (1970). The new set "offers a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today, and focusing on the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world."
Covers Islamic political thought from the birth of Islam to today including more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries written by an international team of specialists. This volume focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, covering central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history.