Get Help!
Profile
- Factiva This link opens in a new window International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- IBIS World IBISWorld provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries worldwide. In-house analysts leverage economic, demographic and market data, then add analytical and forward-looking insight, to help organizations of all types make better business decisions.
- Mergent's InvestorEdge This link opens in a new window Mergent InvestorEdge houses over 4000 Equity Research Reports, updated weekly, providing expert analysis and buy, sell, and hold recommendations from Ford Equity Research.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window U.S. and international company data. Coverage includes: History; Mergers, acquisitions, disposals; Joint ventures; Business; Property; Subsidiaries; Officers and directors; News reports; Long-term debt; Bond ratings; Capital stock; Exchange and ticker symbol; Annual stock price ranges; Registrar; Transfer agent; Stock splits; Dividend payment history; Income statement; Cash flow statement; Balance sheet; Contact information; Auditors; Qualified auditors' report Use Mergent Online to:Research 15 years of detailed financial statementsCustomize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you needExport company reports and financials into Word® or Excel®Execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variablesCompare multiple companies' reportsRetrieve EDGAR filings dating back to 1993 in Word® and Excel® formats.FactSheets
- Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window Morningstar offers analysis on 15,800 stocks, 26,500 mutual funds and 1,700 exchange traded funds (ETFs). While it is primarily designed as a tool for investors, it is also an excellent place to get quick information on a company. The Company Stock Reports include analysis written by Morningstar’s experts, up to 10 years of financials, bond information, ratios, SEC filings and information on insider actions and institutional holders. Reports are available for the top 3000 companies but other information is available for many more. Another useful feature is their industry returns section, which is under the markets tab. This has total return for broad industry segments and identifies the top companies in the sector, with links to more information on those companies.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is one of the world‘s largest statistics portals, providing data compiled from 18,000 private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia. All statistics and forecasts can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
Bloomberg Terminal
The Bloomberg terminal in the Leyburn library has complete company equity and bond information. You can only access it on site in the library so if you want to check it out then you will find the below links useful:
- Getting Started Guide for Students
- Locating Corporate Bonds
- Bloomberg Guide (for equity, bonds..etc) from Investopedia
• FactSet
FactSet is available to W&L users only; registration is required see instructions below. FactSet offers comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies. Once you have your account, you can get help using FactSet in the Online Assistant, but logging in is required. You can also access tutorials and information about FactSet Certification at FactSet Learning (requires logging in).
FactSet data coverage includes:
- Financial data on 70,000+ public and private companies worldwide with historical coverage for developed markets from 1980s and for emerging markets from 1990s
- Up-to 2,000 historical financial metrics data items for close to 100 countries
- Historical financial data on 5,000 global indices, as well as fixed income, commodities, alternative investments markets, and more
- Other items include bonds and loans, corporate governance, estimates, filings, mergers and acquisitions, mutual funds, ownership, private companies, and supply chain relationships.
Access to FactSet is available for academic, noncommercial use by students & faculty of W&L, and it is intended for advanced users. FactSet requires registration for an individual user account.
Accessing FactSet: Registration is required
- To get started with FactSet, new users must first register and create an individual account using a Washington and Lee University email address at: https://advantage.factset.com/academic_idrequest
- Upon completion of the registration form, ID requests are typically processed by FactSet within 72 business hours. You will receive an email directly from FactSet confirming your registration and providing login information.
For Assistance:
- You can get help using FactSet in the Online Assistant, and you should start here (requires logging in).
- Tutorials and information about FactSet Certification is available at FactSet Learning (requires logging in).
- For technical issues, contact the FactSet Help Desk at 1-877-FACTSET (available 24/7). This is not for help using the site itself, but technical issues about accessing the site.
- Email: academics@factset.com
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
This resource is available only to W&L users only. This database requires extensive understanding of financial and economic concepts and is recommended only for advanced users. Entering your W&L email address will give you a "day pass" that will grant access for one day; faculty should register for a personal account.
WRDS is a warehouse of financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface from the following resources providers: Compustat, CRSP, Federal Reserve System, FDIC, Dow Jones and other sources. Users primarily interested in company financial data should use Mergent Online.
Barron's in Education
Barron's is a weekly news magazine providing financial news, providing in-depth analysis and commentary on stocks, investments and markets. Access to Barron's current content is restricted to students, faculty and staff, and users need to register for a personal account.
W&L’s subscription was a gift from Tommy McBride and McBride & Associates at Merrill Lynch Wealth Management. Tommy has been a Barron's Top Ranked Advisor since 2009. The goal is to spur financial education, learn from investing’s best minds and foster professional growth in US business schools.
Wall Street Journal
The library provides current access to the Wall Street Journal online for faculty, staff and students, but you must register for a private accouint using your W&L email address and the link below.
Wall Street Journal: https://partner.wsj.com/partner/washingtonandleeuniversity
If you already have an account (or have ever had an account) with the WSJ using your W&L email address, then it will ask you to just login to your existing account (or select forgot password if you no longer remember it). You must use the link above to associate your account with W&L’s subscription. (After you do this, then the WSJ app should recognize you as an authorized user.)
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
A leading index and abstracting service for business and management, and it provides indexing and abstracts to articles from thousands of business and management publications. Many articles are available in full-text. Abstracting coverage begins with 1971.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889)