Discipline Specific Databases
These databases will provide you with the most scholarly articles on your topic.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Nearly 600,000 entries from over 2,000 periodicals and other sources, dating back to the 1970's, on the "core disciplines in Women's Studies." Materials include: journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; reports, theses and dissertations; book chapters; and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature. Subjects covered include education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Women in Politics Searchable database of references to articles and books on wide range of subjects involving women -- political participation, religion, electoral behavior, etc.
- POPLINE"World's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues."
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is the backfile (1929-1984) to the Art Full Text database.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)In-depth art database, excellent except for retrieving the most current scholarship. Coverage from 1975-2007.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- L'Annee PhilologiqueAn international, multilingual index of all aspects of classical studies.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 3,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews from 1906 to present
- Feminae; Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and more about women, sexuality, and gender in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East, from 450-1500 AD.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The preeminent music reference source at W&L. One-stop searching of the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the encyclopedic Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Multi Discipline Databases
The following databases are more general in nature than the discipline specific ones.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to about 600 journals from academic publishers.
- Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Derived from the venerable Readers Guide to Periodical Literature, this database lists approximately 3 million articles from about 375 leading magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, and the New Yorker, roughly covering the time span from 1890 to 1982.