Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.

A combination of Harvard's Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute. It covers hundreds of anthropology and archaeology journals and other relevant scholarly sources, including essays and chapters from edited books, with significant full-text provision.

Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature. Subjects covered include education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.

The premiere index to the journal literature of medicine and related fields. It covers over 3,800 journals from the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. The database is updated daily. Coverage extends back to 1966.

Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.

Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.

The link above takes users to the free, public-domain form of the database which is the largest education database in the world.

Nearly 600,000 entries from over 2,000 periodicals and other sources, dating back to the 1970's, on the "core disciplines in Women's Studies." Materials include: journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; reports, theses and dissertations; book chapters; and more.

A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.