SOAN 396: SENIOR SEMINAR IN ANTHROPOLOGICAL ANALYSIS (Professor Bell)

Winter 2019
http://libguides.wlu.edu/soan396

Find Books at Washington and Lee

The library's Primo database, accessible through our homepage, can be used to find out what print and online books are available to W&L researchers.  Here are some suggestions.

 

If You Know a Book's Author or Title

Select Browse Search ( you may have to choose "Advanced Search" to see this) and then use the drop-down menu to:

  • Browse by Author -- enter author's last name, plus some or all of the first name.  For example:  books by Markowitz Harvey
  • Browse by Title -- enter the beginning of a book's title.  For example:  titles beginning Harry Potter and.

 

If You are Searching for Books on a Topic

If you are using the basic "Simple Search" (or "Search Everything"), a drop-down menu will be activated which allows you to select "Books Only."
If you are using "Advanced Search," you can select "Books Only."

You can combine words or forms of words that appear in descriptions of books.  Some examples:

Find Books in Other Libraries

You can discover books (and other materials) not available in W&L libraries by using the WorldCat database, which contains the holdings of hundreds of library catalogs -- books, DVD's, digital materials, etc.

W&L researchers have access to two forms of the WorldCat database:

W&L researchers can request most items found in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.

Find Dissertations

Doctoral dissertations are not published books, but can be considered book-length scholarly studies.
W&L subscribes to a database which offers the complete texts of over 1 million dissertations and theses.

Getting an Article's Text

In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.

But what do you do when the text is not immediately available?  How do you know if we have access to an article?

 

 

Serials Solutions 360 Link

This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S.    Click here to begin.   (For more information, see this page.)

 

 

Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?

You usually can answer this question by searching our A-Z Journals List.