POLITICS 292: THE POLITICS OF RACE AND GENDER IN MAD MEN (Professor Le Blanc)

Spring 2019
http://libguides.wlu.edu/pol292

Magazine and Newspaper Articles from the 1960's

The library's Newspaper and Magazine Databases site provides databases which allow you to search for newspaper and magazine articles published in the 20th century and earlier, including the 1960's. 

  • Historical Newspaper Coverage.   Scroll to the bottom of the page for access to individual newspapers published in the 1960's, including the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal
  • Historical Magazine Coverage.  Scroll down to Readers' Guide Retrospective for access to the major magazines published in the 1960's.

Possible Combinations of Search Terms

Some suggested search terms for the "Historical and Political Context Project" assignment, which can be used in the databases listed above and below.   To try to focus these issues to the 1960's, you could try adding AND 1960* to the search statement.  Example: "women's rights" AND 1960*

  1. (contracept* OR "birth control") AND (law OR legal OR right*) AND pill
  2. nixon AND kennedy AND election
  3. "cuban missile crisis"
  4. (a)  "medgar evers"  (b) birmingham AND bomb*  (c) "martin luther king" AND assassin*
  5. "women's rights"
  6. stonewall AND riot*
  7. "vietnam war"

Articles from Scholarly and Professional Publications

Mostly valuable for scholarly/academic and professional articles published in recent years, including studies of political and social issues in the 1960's.
The first database in this list, Academic Search Complete, may suffice for many topics in the class, although more specialized coverage is offered in other databases.

Getting an Article's Text

In many cases, an entry in one of our databases will direct you to the complete text of an article.

But what do you do when the text is not immediately available?  How do you know if we have access to an article?

 

 

Serials Solutions 360 Link

This link, found in many databases, will take you to a page which will present your options, which may include (1) other databases, and/or (2) interlibrary loan.

 

 

Interlibrary Loan

This option enables W&L students and faculty to get copies of articles or other materials -- without charge -- from other libraries across the U.S.    Click here to begin.   (For more information, see this page.)

 

 

Does W&L Have This Magazine (or Journal or Newspaper)?

You usually can answer this question by searching our Full Text Journal List.