U.S. Federal Government -- Sites and Publications
Here are authoritative U.S. Federal Government resources which are particularly useful for poverty-related data and analysis.
- U.S. Census Bureau -- Poverty This section within the Census Bureau's site bring together data sources, publications, links to other source, and much more. You can find the most recent data in several subject areas, including poverty and income, in Data.Census.gov and the American Community Survey sections of the site. Another useful area is Well-Being.
- Working Poor Section of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics site includes the annual A Profile of the Working Poor, along with data on wages, earning, and benefits, while coordinating other data with the Census Bureau's "Current Population Survey."
- Rural Poverty and Well-being U.S. Department of Agriculture research focusing on the "economic, social, and demographic factors that affect the poverty status and incomes of rural residents and their participation in Federal assistance programs."
- Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement This U.S. Department of Health and Human Services site contains data on guidelines and other measures, as well as links to other important research sites. Be sure to look at the "Are You Looking For" section at the bottom of the page.
- Poverty & Economic Mobility Presented here are the poverty lines for every State and the District of Columbia. You will also find extensive resources on poverty estimates, trends, and analysis, plus historical information on poverty and the Guidelines. More broadly, this section also encompasses issues like poverty and income dynamics, and asset building and financial literacy.
- SAPIE Publications Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates from the United States Census Bureau
U.S. Federal Government -- Search Tools
These are tools for finding information from the Congress and Executive agencies of the U.S. Federal Government.
- GovInfo Official Government Publishing Office database provides access to hundreds of thousands of Federal Government documents, dating back to the 18th century.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window This is almost certainly the most comprehensive database of Congressional publications, some dating back as far as the late 1700's. Includes the complete texts of hearings and most other documents. An interesting sub-set of the database provides legislative histories. (Law Library subscription.)
Major Data Sources
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window Probably the single most useful published collection of statistical information on virtually all aspects of life in the United States. And it usually directs you to the originally-published sources of data for more in-depth coverage. Earlier editions also are available online from the Census Bureau. Printed copies (1878-2011) are available in the library's Reference collection.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Contains references to tens of thousands of data sources from the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, and private sector groups, such as trade and professional associations.
- National Center for Children in Poverty Research and advocacy center at Columbia University, providing data on states' policies in a range of subject areas, such as food stamps and Head Start.
- Measure of America A project of the Social Science Research Council, with "easy-to-use, yet methodologically sound, tools for understanding the distribution of well-being and opportunity in America..."
- Kids Count Data Center Project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation to "track the well-being of children in the United States."