General Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowProbably the single most useful published collection of statistical information on virtually all aspects of life in the United States. And it usually directs you to the originally-published sources of data for more in-depth coverage.
Earlier editions also are available online from the Census Bureau. Printed copies (1878-2011) are available in the library's Reference collection.
- Statista1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources (including both national and international data) ranging from agriculture to media & marketing and consumer & demographic data; also includes company dossiers and Industry Reports
- Statistics on WomenA resource guide from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign that has a variety of links to different statistical information on women in the USA and abroad.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains references to tens of thousands of data sources from the U.S. Federal Government, U.S. state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, and private sector groups, such as trade and professional associations.
U.S. Federal Government
These are tools for finding information from the Congress and Executive agencies of the U.S. Federal Government.
- U.S. Federal Government Watchdog AgenciesThese agencies of the U.S. Federal Government are considered reliable, non-partisan research resources, especially for analyses of government programs and policies.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This is almost certainly the most comprehensive database of Congressional publications, some dating back as far as the late 1700's. Includes the complete texts of hearings and most other documents. An interesting sub-set of the database provides legislative histories. (Law Library subscription.)
International Governmental Organizations
- List of International Governmental OrganizationsDozens of IGO's. (Northwestern university)
- UN Women Data HubWhat progress are we making on achieving gender equality? Check out dashboards for the latest data on gender-specific Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) indicators key thematic areas.
- List of Foreign GovernmentsHundreds of foreign government sites (Northwestern University).
Datasets
- Google Dataset SearchNew resource from Google (still "beta") collates thousands of online data sources and makes them searchable.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new window
World's largest social science data archive. Important Login Information: Click “Log in.” Then, select “Sign in with email,” NOT “Access through your institution.” If you haven't already done so, create an account using your W&L email address.