The Law Library's collection consists of both legal and non-legal materials across a broad spectrum of subjects available both in print and online. The Law Library offers access to databases, books, treatises, and study aids, as well as other items such as laptops, chargers, umbrellas, games, and puzzles.
The physical collection is arranged by subject using the LC call number system. The general library collection, or "stacks," is located on Levels 1A and 1 of Lewis Hall. In addition to the general collection, specialized collections are located throughout the study areas in Lewis Hall and online.
- Databases and Online Resources - The library's print collections are supplemented by an array of electronic databases and online resources. Access to many resources is available to all users on campus or remotely using W&L login credentials. Visit the Law Library's Online Resources page for a list of databases and online resources as well as short descriptions of each.
- Study Aid Collection (Online + Reserve Room, Level 3) - The Reserve Room print collection includes select reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and directories, plus a large selection of study aid materials such as hornbooks, commercial outlines, practice exams, nutshells, and flashcards. Our print study aid materials are supplemented by the West Academic Study Aids Collection, CALI, Quimbee, and Lexis Digital Library Study Aids online.
- Lewis F. Powell Jr. Archives (Level 1) - The Archives comprise three units of special collections: manuscript collections, rare books, and the School of Law archives. For more information, visit the Archives website.
- Law School Success Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection includes a range of titles to help you do your best in law school—academically of course, but also with guidance on mindfulness, perseverance, mental health, and work-life balance for law students.
- Career Strategy Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection is focused on career exploration, interviewing techniques, time management, personal organization, and professionalism. These materials are located in the Main Reading Room in the center, right shelving unit.
- Bar Success Collection (Main Reading Room, Level 3A) - This collection consists of a variety of materials written to assist students in studying and planning for the bar exam. These materials are supplemented with the Bar Exam Research Guide that is regularly updated.
- Recreation (Level 3) - The Recreation collection contains fiction novels, popular non-fiction, and DVDs for recreational reading and viewing. It also has a variety of board games, sports equipment, and jigsaw puzzles available for checkout.
- Equipment & Accessories (Reserve Room + Circulation Desk, Level 3) - We offer a variety of equipment and accessories (laptops, chargers, cables, noise-cancelling headphones, book stands, handheld vacuum, etc.) for checkout at the Circulation Desk.
Visit the Collection Development Policy for information on how we decide which materials to purchase.
