Get Help!
News Media in Individual States
- Newsbank Access World News -- U.S.Database of articles from over 6,600 news sources in the U.S., updated daily and searchable by an individual state's news sources. Sources include print, online, and broadcast. You can view the list of sources in each state by clicking on the [x] sources link next to the name of the state.
To search by state, click on the appropriate state and insert your search terms in the box at the top of the page.
Example: Virginia sources.
You can have the results of any search e-mailed to you automatically as the database is updated each day. Steps:
(a) conduct any search, such as "kamala harris" in Virginia news sources;
(b), as you view the search results page, click on "Create Alert" above the list of articles;
(c) enter your e-mail address and how frequently you would like to receive e-mail updates on this topic in these sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and news coverage from over 14,000 sources, including newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc. Contemporary coverage of the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
"Professional" News Sources on American Politics
This list has evolved over many years of W&L courses and research and was most recently revised for the "Congress and the Legislative Process" course, taught by Brian Alexander. Professor Alexander's discussion of these sources is available:
Daily Essentials
- Axios (especially Axios AM)
- Washington Post (especially Politics section)
- New York Times (especially Politics section) Register for an individual account.
- Wall Street Journal (especially Politics section). Register for an individual account.
- Politico (especially Huddle)
- Roll Call
- National Public Radio (especially Morning Edition)
Focus on Congress
- C-Span
- CQ Magazine W&L subscription.
- National Journal Daily (Also look for: Hotline | RaceTracker | Presentation Center) W&L subscription.
- The Hill
- Congressional Record (Daily Digest)
More Excellence
- BBC News (U.S. and Canada)
- Bloomberg News
- The Economist (U.S. section)
- Morning Consult (Washington section)
- PBS NewsHour
- RealClear Politics
- Sabato's Crystal Ball
More News Media Coverage
These databases complement Newsbank Access World News for coverage of U.S. newspapers and other news sources, but they do not allow for easy access to the newspapers of one particular state.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cover-to-cover coverage of over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selective full-text coverage for an additional 335 U.S. newspapers and transcripts from broadcast news sources. In most cases, chronological coverage extends back only several years, although some coverage begins in the 1990's.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.