Get Help!
Search for Economics Resources
Use Zotero to manage your sources
Zotero is a research tool that automatically senses citation information in your browser, allowing you to add sources to your personal library. You can then use the sources in your library to create bibliographies, store articles and link to articles through the W&L library.
Search for articles, books, and other sources using the following:
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) covering both economic theory and application, and indexes journal articles, working papers, books, articles (chapters) in collective works, and dissertations.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Described as the largest citation-and-abstract database in the world, Scopus features broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources, as well as academic Web sites from the Scirus database. Scopus also functions as a citation-indexing tool.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature and locate the full text if it is available on the Internet.
Gray Literature (or Grey Literature)
What is "gray literature"?
Gray literature is the term that is applied to sources of information that are not commercially published and are not generally available from bookstores, libraries, or traditional bibliographic sources. These works are often used to solicit constructive feedback from experts in the fields and are later published in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets. Gray literature includes:
- technical papers
- working papers
- white papers
- preprints
- brochures and pamphlets
- any other "unpublished" work
- International Monetary Fund PublicationsSearch IMF working papers, policy papers, and publications.
- National Bureau Of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields.
- World Bank Documents & Reports Holds over 80,000 free, downloadable documents, including operational documents (project documents, analytical and advisory work, and evaluations), formal and informal research papers, and most Bank publications.