Databases for Art & Art History
These databases might prove appropriate for research on art-related topics. Of course, the best database for your particular need depends upon your research question. See full list of library databases.
Images
Scholarly Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective is the backfile (1929-1984) to the Art Full Text database.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of over 2,000 journals in history, film studies, religion, philosophy, and other fields within the humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
Background Information (on terminology, movements, artists, etc)
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
One-stop searching of major art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Grove Art Online (e-version of the 34 vol. The Dictionary of Art) , The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.