Profile
Article Databases -- Scholarly/Academic
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowExcellent starting point. Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 16,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowA multifaceted repository of online materials for legal and historical research. (W&L Law Library subscription)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, covering "issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world" -- constitutional law, criminal justice, environmental law, commercial law, ethical issues, etc. Chronological coverage varies among sources, with some extending back to the early 1990's.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThis is almost certainly the most comprehensive database of Congressional publications, some dating back as far as the late 1700's. Includes the complete texts of hearings and most other documents. An interesting sub-set of the database provides legislative histories. (Law Library subscription.)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of sociology and its sub-disciplines, with very good coverage of related areas of study, especially politics. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
- Think Tanks, Public Policy Groups, and Advocacy GroupsThink tanks and public policy, advocacy, and research groups provide a great deal of information in a wide range of subject areas. See the " Find Publications in Group Sites" options.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowHighly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.
Article Databases -- News Articles
Mostly newspaper articles, but also some magazine coverage.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowArticles from 9,000+ U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Able to focus a search on news sources from one region of the world or even from one U.S. state at a time.
- New York Times, The, Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times beginning with the first issue in 1851.
- Washington Post Historical Newspaper (1877-1996) This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowOffers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (1889)
New York Times Personal Account
New York Times
The University Library has partnered with the New York Times to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com mobile app.
Faculty/Staff will be provided with an academic pass valid for 4 years. Students will be provided an academic pass valid until December 31, of the graduation year they select.
Setting up your account
NEW subscribers
- Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
- In the "Find School" box, type in Washington & Lee University (use the ampersand) and follow the instructions.
- If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID NYT subscription
- If you have an active paid subscription, you will first need to cancel your personal subscription. You can do this by connecting with a chat agent on the site or calling 800-698-4637.
- After you cancel your paid account, you can follow the directions below to claim your complimentary subscription.
EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription
- Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
- Click on "Already have an account "Log In" (Found below "Create An Account").
- Input your email address and the same password created for your previous account.
- If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables current W&L undergraduate students, faculty, and staff to use other libraries' collections to borrow books or other printed materials and/or receive electronic copies of articles.