Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.
*HistoryMaker oral content will be made available via W&L late Fall 2020.
Contains over 7,500 articles from Oxford University Press publications, some of which are not yet available in printed form, as well as primary source materials, maps, images, and more. In some cases, the entire contents of a publication might be included, such as the brand-new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619 to 1895 and the forthcoming African American National Biography and Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture.
Search Each page offers a simple keyword "Search" box in the upper-right corner.
To search for entries containing two or more words, connect the search words with AND. Example: tulsa AND riot
To search for entries containing a multi-word phrase, enclose the search words within quotation marks. Example: "jim crow"
To search for variations of a word, use an asterisk (*) as a "wild-card" character. Example: lynch* will find lynch, lynched, lynching, lynchings, etc.
Please note that search results are listed in order of relevance. A breakdown of resource types is displayed above each list.
Browse The "Browse" option, near the upper-left corner, enables you to view lists of all articles in various categories. Choosing this option allows you to see the "Filter List" (left column), which contains two basic divisions, which you can open by clicking on the little plus-signs (+):
"Eras," which contains chronological groupings, such as "Before 1400"
"Category," which contains topical groupings, such as "History -- Gender and Sexuality."
Highly respected database covers 7,000 sources for legal information, news sources, and business research. Extensive legal coverage includes law reviews, court cases, statutes, regulations, and more. News sources feature hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Business research includes Company Investigator.