Study Guides for 1L Classes

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides are computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. There are over 1,200 lessons available on 60 different topics. Current W&L Law students can click here for the Authorization Code to sign up for a free account.

The Lexis Digital Library is an e-book collection of primary and secondary legal materials, plus a range of study aids for law school subjects from LexisNexis. Contains over 700 titles on 60+ legal topics, including the Understanding, Skills & Values, and Questions & Answers study aids series. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library to current W&L Law students.

Quimbee courses include beautifully designed video lessons that break down even the toughest concepts into bite-sized, entertaining chunks. The International Law course surveys international law. It covers obligations of states to one another and their enforcement in international and domestic forums. Attention is also given to the law of war, international criminal law, and human rights. Complimentary access is provided by the W&L Law Library. Contact lawref@wlu.edu for login credentials.

West Academic offers hundreds of study aids written by top legal scholars that are designed to help you succeed in law school, including Nutshells, Hornbooks, Black Letter Outlines, Sum and Substance Audio Lectures, and more. All are free to view online or download to your mobile device with a valid W&L Law account through the linked heading above.

Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.

Elegant and authoritative, International Law, Eighth Edition provides a basic understanding of its subject, not only for law students and students in courses on international relations, but for lawyers, judges, officials, and journalists, indeed for anyone interested in learning about the nature of both public and private international law. This timely Eighth Edition reflects current policies in the United States and abroad, keeping pace with new developments in International Human Rights Law, International Environmental Law, International Organizations, the Law of the Sea, and International and Domestic Courts.

Online access available through West Academic. This fully updated, go-to treatise explores the historical evolution and contemporary operation of international law. The fifth edition weaves in-depth considerations of key cases, core disputes, and essential international agreements into a broad overview of all important aspects of the subject. Readers will find an authoritative discussion of traditional topics such as the sources of international law and the methods of international dispute resolution alongside consideration of pressing issues such as cross-border cyberattacks, climate change, and contemporary challenges to the international legal order.

Online access available through West Academic. This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law. Since it's aimed at the non-specialist, it provides straight-forward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions.

Online access available through West Academic. This fully-updated third edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first part of the book addresses how international law is created, interpreted and enforced; the second part focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final part covers key subject matter areas: human rights, injury to aliens, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.

Online access available through West Academic. This Sixth Edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. Questions & Answers: International Law offers multiple choice questions and a final practice essay exam covering a wide array of areas likely to be addressed in any International Law course. The areas covered include: principles of International Law; jurisdiction; sources of International Law; the United Nations; the Use of Force and Humanitarian Law; International Criminal and Human Rights Law; Indigenous Peoples ; International Environmental Law; the Law of the Sea; and International Trade Law.

Online access available through West Academic. This book provides a foundation for students studying international law who need to supplement knowledge from their courses or obtain a quick overview to prepare for an exam. The topics covered range from the historic foundations of international law (including an overview of the subject's founders) to the laws of wars and use of force. The book contains information on wars ranging from the 100-years war to Vietnam and the one in Iraq. The book provides a comprehensive overview of state formation and obligations, including state requirements to treat all individuals (citizens, immigrants, and aliens) humanely. Students who review the state responsibility chapter will obtain an approach to writing essay questions on international law or briefs for international tribunals.

Online access available through West Academic. In a time of war and rumors of war, law students and practitioners clamor to know more about international law. This audio presents an overview of international law for students taking the basic course in public international law or a seminar in courses such as international environmental law or refugee law. The audio is also appropriate for lawyers who find themselves working on a case and need a quick overview of international law, or for public citizens concerned about war and other conflicts between nations. The audiobook discusses how states form, create laws, and interact with individuals. It also discusses the legal limits on waging war.

Online access available through the Lexis Digital Library. This clearly written Understanding treatise is designed to explain what international law is, why it exists, and the basic subjects it covers. The law of treaties is given particular attention, chiefly because of the increasing importance of the treaty in international life. The number of treaties has mushroomed since the Second World War and many of these agreements include over 100 states as parties. Because of their number and the breadth of their coverage, treaties are thus the main form of international legislation.